Skip to main content

Full text of "Publications of the Ipswich Historical Society"

See other formats

Gc tot 

no. 15 




3 1833 01100 0558 

Digitized by the Internet Archive 
in 2013 

• ' 












December 3, 1906. 

::n WtCSSt 
Liu. Salem Press Co., Salem, Mass. 






0»lLIP FoWLEft.. 














December 3, 1906. 

Salem IPtese: 
The Salem Press Co., Saeem, Mass. 




In the year 1639, the General Court considered the unsatisfactory con- 
dition of the public highways. Sometimes they were "toostraite" and "in 
oth<r places travellers are forced to go farr about." It was ordered, there- 
fore, on the 5 th of November, "that all high ways shall be laid out before 
th*r next General Court." 

"Every town shall choose tw r o or three men who shall joyne with 
two or three of the next town & they shall have power to layout ways 
where most convenient not withstanding any man's propriety or any 
come ground so as it not occasion the puling downe of any man's 
house or laying open any garden or orchard & in comon ground or 
where the soyle is wet or mirye they shall lay out the ways the wider 
hs 6 or 8 or 10 rods or more in comon ground." "Each town to make 
reasonable satisfaction." 
At the session of the General Court, beginning Oct. 7, 1640, the sur- 
reyors reported that they had laid out the highway from Rowley to 

" from Mr. Nelsons dwelling house pale by the end of Mussies Hill to 
the newe bridge over the North Ryver & so to the newe bridge over 
Muddy Ryver & so by the comon fence to Ipswich towne & so along 
by Mr. Saltonstails house over the falls at Mile River & by marked 
trees over Mr. Apple tons meadow called Parlye Meadow & from thence 
by Mr. Hubbards farm house and so upon the east side of Mr. Smiths 
house then over the ould planters meadow and so to the two ponds 
usually dry in summer near wch ponds the way doth branch one where- 
of is easterly of the said ponds leading through the old planters field 
to the Salem ferry according to the marked trees and the other way is 
westerly of the ponds leading to a great creek at a landing place west- 
erly of Mr. Scrugs house." 

The breadth of this highway was eight rods. Except bridging North 
K*ver or Egypt River, as it is now called, and Muddy River, nothing was 
wxmj apparently to make travel more easy or convenient. The travel- 
W forded Ipswich River at the "watering place," as it was known in later 
»<r ■'».-* ,' near the present foot-bridge of the Ipswich mill, rode along the high- 
**)" by Mr. Saltonstali'8, whose house was on or near the site of the old 

. x Ipswich in Mass. Bay Colony, pp. 460-462. 

' (1) 


Merrifield house, 1 forded Mile River, and picked his way across Samuel 
Apple ton's meadow by blazed trees, and on to Salem Ferry. No 
change in the existing road was made, except where it cut through the 
Appleton farm. To settle the damage at this point, the Town voted in 
1650, "Granted to Mr. Apleton a p'cell of ground (in full satisfaction for 
the country highway going through his farme) beyond the swamp to make 
his fence straight not exceeding eight acres." In the year 1680, and prob- 
ably long before, bridges had been built over Saltonstall's brook, and Mile 
River, as John Whipple was ordered to care for the roads from"Myle Bridge" 
to Wenham bounds, in that year, and John Low, from Mr. Saltonstall's 
Bridge to Haffield's Bridge. 

Richard Saltonstall's Lot. 

No. 1 on Diagram. 

Mr. Richard Saltonstall's town property, as described in his deed to Sam- 
uel Bishop, included his "dwelling house & orchard with all ye land about 
it on both sides ye brook commonly called Saltonstall's brook it being 
14 acres by estimation whether it be more or less." Sept. 23, 1680 (16: 
105). But Nathaniel Rust, a glover by trade, was in possession of that 
part of the Saltonstall land, which lay on the south side of the brook, as 
early as 1689, when Capt. Cross sold the land on the north of the brook to 
Elisha Treadwell. (Ips. Deeds 5:378). Mr. Rust had his tan yard, beam 
house, and all the appurtenances of his craft here, and here no doubt, he 
made the four dozen pairs of gloves ordered for Rev. Mr. Cobbet's funeral 
on Nov. 6, 1685. Thomas Norton was likewise a tanner, and on March 8, 
1699-1700, Mr. Rust sold him an acre of land "beginning at the brook 
commonly called Saltingstall's Brook," running twelve rods on the road, 
and fifteen rods back, with all "houses, tan-yard, trees, fences, orchard, etc." 
and the benefit of half the brook (13: 270). Norton married Mercy Rust, 
the glover's daughter, and on June 18, 1701, he bought the residue of Mr. 
Rust's property, seven acres of arable and pasture land (23:252). 

Mr. Rust's dwelling stood where the Meeting House of the South Church 
is now located. He sold this to his son-in-law, Mr. Norton, and Capt. 

1 The old Merrifield house was purchased by Mrs. D. F. Appleton, and torn 
down in May, 1907. It was evident that the frame was largely that of a seventeenth 
century house. The oak summers or main floor beams were the counterpart of those 
In the ancient Whipple house, although the lower side including the moulded edgea 
had been hewn away and boxed in, to suit the later fashions. Portions of a wooden 
partition, with the same rude tooling that occurs in the Whipple house, were found, 
but not in their original place. A single corner post with chamfered edge in the 
second story, the ancient door post with slots for the wooden latch of the front door 
and the bar which locked it, and the massive oak floor joists attested an original house 
of the earliest period, the old whitewash revealing an original unplastered ceiling. 
The huge fire places had been remodelled, but the dimensions of the chimney, and 
the use of soft bricks laid in clay showed that it was built at a very early period. 

The windows, however, were of a later period, and had never been changed. No 



»*...* V* 


MB] [nnd r:"l ; 

■V, **■«•&« : 




Daniel Ringe, March 9, 1710 (23:76) and their joint ownership continued 
until Nov. 4, 1723, when they sold to Ammi Ruhamah Wise (41:264). By 
that year, tiie venerable mansion under the great elm had been built, and 
here Deacon Norton lived the rest of his days. His son, Thomas, a grad- 
uate of Harvard and teacher for some years of the Grammar School, in- 
herited the estate. His will was probated in 1750 (Pro. Rec. 329: 453-5). 
The inventory is very elaborate, and includes the dwelling house, and home- 
stead, valued at £266-13-4,, the upper house, £80, a negro woman called 
Phillis, and a valuable stock of leather. Thomas, the eldest son, received 
the dwelling with the tan-yard, pits, etc. (Pro. Rec. 330: 426), and sold the 
whole estate to Dummer Jewett, July 24, 1771 (129:99). His widow sold 
to the County of Essex, " to be improved and used as a house of correction" 
Jan. 21, 1791 (154:9). 

The prison was built on the adjoining land to the northward and was 
surrounded by a high fence. The old Norton dwelling was used as the 
keeper's house. Though vague reports of dungeons in the cellar were cur- 
rent in later years, no evidence of such was found, when the building was 
torn down. 

A new jail and prison were built on the present County property and 
the old mansion and eight acres were sold to Asa Brown, April 22, 1828 
(250:16), who added a wing on the north side. When the new Meeting 
House of the South Church was built in 1837, he bought the old Rust-Norton 
house, and removed it to the ancient tan-yard site, where it was remodelled 
and became the sightly dwelling now owned and occupied by Henry 
Brown. A large tract adjoining the ancient Saltonstall lot was also acquired 
by Asa Brown, and this will now be considered. 

From this point to the ancient Potter farm, now owned by George 
E. Barnard, the long strip bounded by the highway on the east, and the 
river on the west, was divided into lots/approximately six acres, and ap- 
portioned probably by grant of the Town, though only a single record re- 
mains. This land was assigned usually to residents of the south side and was 
used for tillage and pasturage. 1 In the earliest years nohouse would have been 
permitted, as the General Court in 1635 forbade any house more than half a 
mile from the meeting-house, " except mill-houses and farm houses, of such 
as have their dwelling-houses in the same town." 

bricks were found iu the walls, though a large portion of the boards were daubed with 
clay on the inner side, as though they had been used formerly with a clay filling. The 
house faced the east, while the earliest dwellings generally, if not invariably, faced 
the south. The carpenter's marks on the frame were frequently out of place. 

The conclusion that forces itself upon us is that a large portion of the material 
of au earlier house, of the same dimensions, were utilized in the dwelling just re- 
moved, and that this older house occupied the same site. 

The pedigree of the lot, given in Ipswich in the Mass. Tiay Colony, pp. 465-467, 
makes it certain that Richard Saltonstall'a house must have stood near this spot, and 
It is almost impossible to doubt that the early dwelling, which has been revealed, was 
none other than the original house of Mr. Saltonstall, built in 1635 or 1636. The later 
building seems to have been erected early in the l^th century. 

1 It is called a "common field" in Joseph Younglove's deed, to Thomas Manning. 


Nathaniel Rogers's Lower Pasture. 

Lots Nos. 2 and 3 on Diagram. 
Rev. Nathaniel Rogers, pastor of the Ipswich church, whose dwelling 
was very near the "Gables, "owned two of these six acre lots, one of which, 
abutting on Mr. Saltonstall's, was granted by the Town (Town Record, 
1649). Mr. Rogers bequeathed his estate to his sons, John, then his col- 
league, afterwards President of Harvard College, and Samuel. By the in- 
denture of division, which they agreed upon, Pres. John received the home- 
stead and these'tvwo lots, bounded by the land sometime Mr. Saltonstall's, 
north, and Thomas Burnam's land, south, March 4, 1684 (Ips. Deeds 5:146). 

Thomas Burnam's Lot. 

No. 4 on Diagram. 
John Rogers, the eldest son of President John, Pastor of the Ipswich 
church, inherited the pasture lot upon the death of his father, July 2, 1684. 
He enlarged it April 20, 1693 (39:45) by the purchase of six and a half acres 
upland and swamp from Thomas Burnam, son of the original owner. His 
deed records the item, " which I had of my father by deed of gift bearing 
date of Jan. 1, 1687." 

William Hubbard's Lot. 

No. 5 on Diagram. 

Madame Elizabeth Rogers, widow of President John, on March 26, 
1685 bought the six acre lot of upland and meadow adjoining the Thomas 
Burnam lot on the south, of Rev. William Hubbard, who had married 
Margaret, daughter of Rev. Nathaniel and sister of her husband. (Ips. 
Deeds 5: 146). This lot also became the property of Rev. John, the Pastor of 
the Ipswich church, and he thus owned four of the original six acre divi- 
sions. In his will, (approved Jan. 6, 1745,) he gave the two lots abutting on 
Thomas Norton, part of his lower pasture, to his son Samuel, a phy- 
sician, who built and occupied the house now owned by Frank T. Good- 
hue, and the two others, to his son John, Pastor of the church at Kittery 
(326:460-4). The Kittery Pastor sold the lot adjoining his brother to 
Samuel, before May 6, 1746, and his other lot to his brother Daniel, after- 
ward Pastor for life at Exeter, May 6, 1746 (90: 272). 

Samuel became the owner of three of the original lots by this purchase, 
numbered 2, 3 and 4. He divided them into two " ten acre" lots and sold 
the southern lot to Richard Manning, May 7, 1755 (102:138) and the north- 
ern half to Col. John Choate and Abraham Choate, May 19, 1757 (103:245). 
Col. Choate and William Choate sold to John Heard, June 6, 1776(135:263), 
and John Heard conveyed it to Michael Brown, Novem. 20, 1832 (268: 7S). 

Richard Manning bought the adjoining lot of Rev. Daniel Rogers, 
June 27, 1759 (106: 214). He was the son of Thomas Manning, the black- 
smith, who had forged manacles and fetters for the witches in 1692, 1 and 

1 Ipswich in Masa. Bay Colony, p. 294, 



n^»***^™*'?» , :•« 1 ~ r0 ^^ , ,:• 








.- •• 






j •• 





- "" .. 






■f i "7 





V fcL^ 




"v,v . ■'-""* ■• 


i " Wmk 
! \ |j 

| ■ 

• ^ 







; ■ ' ; 5- '^ 


Ztk/'y". ' :''?A% ''v-'. 

V :%L^< 

'- '• \, . 4 





■ :> ' * $ 




f, 4p f il 








n - 1^ 

• - ; 1 



tf-^/* -8 ^^:;;/! 

% 1 



: ^ ..' 










whose house and shop it may be presumed as well, occupied the William 
Kinsman lot, now owned by Mrs. Joseph R. Wilson. The elder Manning had 
purchased the two original lots adjoining. : 

Samuel Younglove's Lot. 

No. 6 on Diagram. 

Samuel Younglove, the first known proprietor of the lot numbered 6, 
had conveyed it to his son Joseph, "ray lot of upland in the field on the 
south side" containing six acres, Nov. 19, 1687 (Ips. Deeds 5:298) and Joseph 
sold to Thomas Manning the same lot, "lying within a comon field on y e 
south side of the Mill River, containing eight acres," March 31, 1696 

Dea. William Goodhue's Lot. 

No. 7 on Diagram. 

The lot numbered 7 was owned by Dea. William Goodhue, whose 
house was on the lot now occupied by the Parsonage of the South Church. 
John Goodhue, his grandson, conveyed it to his brother William, "y e 8 acre 
lot by Windmill Hill, 1 lying between the land of Mr. Nath. Rogers and Mr. 
Thomas Manning," Jan. 9, 1699-1700 (14: 225). The Goodhue heirs gave 
a deed of this lot, again called a six acre lot, to Manning, Jan. 18, 1699-1700 
<13: 275,276.) Thomas Manning's will was proved May'23, 1737, (Pro. Rec. 
322:49-53) and it bequeathed to his son Richard, "all the land I bought of 
Joseph Younglove and the Goodhues, containing eighteen or twenty acres, 
be the same more or less." 

Richard Manning was now the owner of four of the original divisions 
numbers 4, 5, 6 and 7. He sold the six acre lot which he had bought of 
Rev. Daniel Rogers to Samuel Chipman of Salem, June 29, 1759 (107:9) 
and the ten acre lot adjoining, which he had bought of Samuel Rogers, to 
Dr. Joseph Manning, June 26, 1765 (116:20.) Anstice Chipman, widow of 
Samuel, sold her lot to Dr. .Manning, March 23 d 1774 (133: 75). 

On Nov. 6, 1770, Capt. Richard Manning conveyed the Goodhue- 
Younglove lots which he had inherited to his daughters. To the widow 
Anstice Chipman and Mary Barker, wife of Ephraim Barker of Stratham, 
N. H., he conveyed a twelve acre lot adjoining the lot owned by Samuel 
Chipman, and another lot of equal size to Martha Talton, wife of Stiles 
Talton of New Market, N. H., and Priscilla Heath, wife of William Heath 
of Salem (122: 275). 

Dr. Joseph Manning bequeathed the "River Pasture," 12 J acres, to his 
son, Dr. John, the famous physician, and 2£ acres in the southwest cor- 
ner of the same, to his son Jacob, June 6, 1786 (Pro. Rec. 358: 374). He 
had previously acquired the adjoining land, the interest of Anstice Chip- 
nam in an "undivided moiety of 8£ acres," conveyed to her and Mary 

1 The name Windmill Hill is still retained. Undoubtedly a wiudinill was built 
•omewhere on this breezy height, but nothing is known of its location. 


Barker by Richard Manning.. Oct., 23 1775 (134: 150) and he bought the 
interest of the heirs of Ephraim Barker "in 3 acres and three eighths, given 
to their mother by their grandfather," August 19, 1793 (156: 278). Jacob 
Manning sold the whole tract, estimated as containing 12 acres, to his 
brother, Dr. John, August 26, 1793 (167:132). 

Dr. Manning sold the River Pasture, he had inherited, and the lot, he 
had bought of Jacob, 26£ acres in all, to Bemsly Smith, March 29, 1809 
(186:157) and he conveyed it to Ammi Brown. Gent., Michael Brown, 
white-smith, and Asa Andrews, the Town lawyer, April 15, 1811 (193: 52). 
By the terms of the deed, Andrews owned an undivided half, and he sold 
this interest to the other proprietors and John Heard, April 28, 1812 (200: 
175). Mr. Heard sold the Choate lot and the Asa Andrews interest to 
Michael Brown, Nov. 20, 1832 (268:78). Brown acquired the title to the 
whole tract before his death. His executors sold this, in three fields, the 
Heard lot, 7* acres (325:99) a 12| acre lot (325:119) and a 11£ acre lot, 
the Choate lot, to Asa Brown, April 23, 1841 (325:127). His purchase of 
the Saltonstall lot has been mentioned already. 

He became now the owner of the large tract reaching from the Brook 
to the land now owned by Wallace P. Willett. He mortgaged 15 acres 
to Asa Brown Potter, adjoining the Willett land. " being the Manning lot, 
and part of the Heard lot," Oct. 3, 1860 (613: 74) and conveyed his whole 
estate to Increase H. Brown, his brother, Oct. 2S, 1862 (643:243). He 
conveyed to their sister, Mrs. Rhoda Brown Potter, April 28, 1866 (701: 
230). Asa also executed a deed to Mrs. Potter of the same with the con- 
dition that she pay what he owed Jonathan Sargent and the mortgages, 
Feb. 11, 1867 (743:198). Mrs. Potter sold 35 acres, retaining 5 acres with 
her homestead, to Edward B. Wildes, May 1, 1871 (822: 114), who built 
the mansion on the hill. His widow sold the estate to Lester E. Libby, 
Aug. 16, 1901 (1650:284). 

Henry Brown, who had inherited the estate of Mrs. Potter, bought 
2$ acres of the Wildes property, June 8, 1903 (1710: 348). This increased 
his lot to about 8 acres, and the present line of division must coincide very 
nearly with the original line between Saltonstall and Rogers. By the 
terms of the sale, Mr. Brown was obliged to remove the ancient Norton 
mansion near the great elm, and it was torn down, still stout and strong. 
Its walls were filled with brick, and its oak beams were massive and finely 
finished. Picturesque in architecture and in location, its destruction was 
a matter of general regret. John H. Procter bought the Wildes mansion 
and 14 acres, May 8, 1903 (1706:40). The balance of the land, 20 acres, 
was purchased by Mrs. Anna P. Peabody, Oct. 5, 1904 (1757:181). She 
has transformed the bare pastures into the beautiful estate, to which the 
name, Floriana, has now been given. 

She also acquired the John H. Procter property, Jan. 8, 1907 (1857: 
355) so that her title covers the original lots of Rev. Nathaniel Rogers 
and his descendants, of Thomas Burnham, Rev. William Hubbard and 
Samuel Younglove. 

The seventh lot in the old Common field, it has been said, was owned 


m-L i 


|*tf | 




HS5 ■ 

- ~ - 


asaM^"* 1 ^ 



..r^ ~ 




by Dea. William Goodhue, by his grandsons John and William, and other 
heirs, by Thomas Manning and his son Capt. Richard, who gave it in equal 
divisions to his daughters, Martha Talton and Priscilla Heath. Stilman 
Talton of Newmarket and Martha, sold 4\ acres, her whole interest, to 
William Appleton, Sept. 20, 1775 (134:156). It was inherited by Daniel 
Thurston, his son-in-law, and sold by him to James Potter and by Thomas 
Brown, Jun., guardian of the minor children of James, to the widow, Rhoda 
B. Potter, called 'The Appleton lot' Nov. 26, 1839 (326:4). She con- 
veyed it to Symmes Potter, May 4, 1846 (368: 6). 

William Heath and Priscilla sold her lot to George Norton, Dec. 27, 
1774 (133:258) who conveyed to Daniel Rogers, Jan. 7, 1783 (140:217). 
Its later history is merged in that of the lots adjoining on the south. 

Rev. Nathaniel Rogers's Upper Pasture and Isaiah Woods's Lot. 

Lots Nos. 8, 9 and 10 on Diagram. 

The eighth and ninth lots were owned by Rev. Nathaniel Rogers, and 
known as the upper pasture. In the indenture of division of the estate 
(Ips. Deeds 5:146), these lots were apportioned to Pres. John Rogers of 
Harvard, bounded north by land of William Goodhue, *' south by land of 
said John Rogers, purchased of Isaiah W T ood," March 4, 1684. His pur- 
chase of the tenth lot is not known from any other source. 

Rev. Nathaniel Rogers of Portsmouth succeeded in the ownership, 
probably by inheritance, and sold the 20 acres of arable and pasture land, 
with a small house and barn, to his brother, Rev. John Rogers, Pastor of 
the Ipswich Church, November 7, 1706 (39:46). We may presume that 
the house and barn may have been occupied by Isaiah Wood, from whom 
Pres. John bought a lot. No trace of these buildings can be found. Rev. 
John bequeathed the southern half of the upper pasture, bounded by the 
land of Robert Potter on the south, to his son Rev. Nathaniel, his colleague 
and successor, and the northern half, abutting on Mr. Manning's land to 
his son, Rev. Daniel of Exeter (proved Jan. 6, 1745 326:460-4). The 
heirs of the latter sold the lot, 11 acres, on April 28, and May 20, 1786, to 
Daniel Rogers of Ipswich (146:151). 

After the death of Mr. Rogers, partition of the tract was made, 16 acres 
in all, as he had previously bought the 4^ acre lot of George Norton. A 
third was set off to George Haskell by the Court of Common Pleas, Sept. 
term, 1839, and the balance to Martha and Mary Ann Rogers. The 
latter sold their portion to Capt. Symmes Potter, Feb. 15, 1840(317: 
118) and George Haskell sold to him Jan. 4, 1841 (323:219). He bought 
the Appleton lot adjoining, as has been stated, and enlarged his holding 
to twenty acres. By the will of Capt. Potter, who was lost at sea, his 
sister, Mrs. Julia P. Willett, received his landed estate, 1859 (Pro. Rec. 
420: 46) and she bequeathed it to her son, Wallace P. Willett, the present 
owner. Four gates in the stone wall still indicate the the several lots in- 
cluded in the single large field. 


The ten acre lot, which Rev. Nathaniel Rogers inherited in 1745, 
came into the possession of the Potters, who owned the large area beyond. 
In 1766, it had been divided. In that year, Richard Potter sold Daniel 
Potter, Jr., 5f acres, the southern half (126:173) and Daniel Potter sold 
Daniel Jr., the other half , 5£ acres of upland and meadow, with a house, 
barn and joiner's shop, May 31, 1769 (126:174). Daniel Potter conveyed 
this property to Moses Willett, Nov. 20, 1810 (192: 75) but it reverted to 
the Potter family and Daniel Potter sold the land and buildings to William 
H. Chapman of Salem. May 24, 1850 (429: 20). Chapman sold to Rev. 
Daniel Fitz, D.D., Pastor of the South Church, the acreage being given as 
fourteen, Mar. 31, 1854 (492: 34.) He conveyed to George W. Brown, Mar. 
31, 1856 (529: 92), who sold to Asa Wade, Dec. 27, 1862 (646: 75). Mr. 
Wade sold the estate, reserving for the small house standing on the prem- 
ises, built by Mr. Winslow, the privilege of retaining it two years, to Isaac 
F. Dobson, the present owner, Oct. 28, 1S81 (1069: 42). The dwelling is 
apparently the same that appears in the deed of Daniel Potter of 1769 
and was built before that date. 

John Dane's Lot. 

No. 11 on Diagram. 
John Dane owned the lot, numbered 11, in 1661, and Nathaniel 
Smith in 1706, by the deeds of adjoining lots, and Robert Potter owned 
and occupied in 1745. In the division of his estate, half the house and 
a piece of land 18 rods deep, 6 rods 8 links wide, was set off to the widow 
Mary, April 4, 1778 (Pro. Rec. 353: 92). The administrator, Moses Potter, 
quitclaimed his interest in the estate to Stephen Brown, 3 d , April S, 1778 
(149: 262). Walter Brown inherited and bought the interest of Joseph 
Boardman in the nine acres and half tli3 house, April 2, 1824 (235: 69). 
The other half of the house was bequeathed by Mary Brown to her relative 
Sally Berry, "as full remuneration for all care, labour and attention of 
every sort and kind bestowed on me during my life," Feb. 3, 1846 (Pro- 
Rec. 413: 291). The widow Sally Berry, sold this to Capt. Symmes Potter, 
April 13, 184S (395: 258) and he conveyed it to Walter Brown, with a part 
of the lot, Jan. 15, 1857 (611: 37). The administrator of Walter Brown 
sold to Asa Wade, June 9, 1863, (652: 178). He owned the adjoining 
estate and moved the house from its original location near the road to the 
rear of the barn, where it still stands. The later history of this lot is that 
of the farm, of which it became a part. 

John Hoyt's Lot. 

No. 12 on Diagram. 
In the year 1641 . the Town Record has the following entry, concern- 
ing the twelfth of these river side lots: 

"Granted to John Hoyt six acres'of planting ground at the Mile 
brook having the Mile brook on the South Ipswich River on 
the Northwest a planting lott of John Danes on the Northeast 
and the Comon of the Towne of Ipswich on the Southeast." 

* m^ww^^'W. 




n O 





hi c 

1 ■ 











I I 




Thomas Hartshome of Reading and Sarah, his wife, who was relict of 
William Lampson, late of Ipswich, sold to Anthony Potter, 

"our dwelling house & other outhousing with the orchard & a 
parcel of upland & meadow containing sixteen acres on the 
South side of the river within the common fence bounded with 
mile brook towards the west the Mill River towards the North 
John Danes land toward the East the comon South." 

December 11, 1661 (Ips. Deeds 4: 437). 

The lot is the same in both records beyond question, though its area is 6 
acres in the grant and 16 acres in the deed, and diverse compass directions 
appear in the bounds. Potter soon enlarged his modest farm. John 
Appleton, son of Samuel, the immigrant, sold him 16 acres, having the 
Mile brook on 

"the east Mill River on the North the land of Lieut Samuel Apple- 
ton west and other land of Potters formerly William Goodhues 
toward the south." 

Dec. 22, 1664 

(Ips. Deeds 2:221). 

Dea. Goodhue's deed of sale of the lot mentioned in the above deed is 
not recorded, but a later deed records another conveyance by Dea. Good- 
hue to Potter for £35 

"of 11 acres together with 7 acres which was sometimes W m 
Lampsons in the whole 18 acres," bounded by Lieut. Apple- 
ton's, his own land and the brook, March 12, 1671 (Ips. Deeds 

This completed his estate, which included the farms, now owned by the 

Oliver Smith heirs and George E. Barnard. Strangely enough, ten years 

later Samuel Appleton Sen., executed a deed of sale to Anthony Potter 

Sen., for £110, 5s. of the same lot already sold him, 18 acres and 62 rods, 

"a part of my farm lying between the Great River and Myle 

brook bounded from the gate post at the highway to Boston to 

a small oake by the great River which are two bounds having 

the land of the sd Appleton on the Southwest and from the 

small oake to the great River coming to sd Potters land on the 

northwest and the land of sd Potter on the northeast on the east 

by myle brooke from sd Potters land up to the gate post at the 

highway to Boston, " 

"provided it was always intended that what damage the sd 
Anthony Potter shall sustain by water that comes from the sd. 
Appletons dam upon any of the above land that the sd Potter 
and his suscessors shall bear it and that the sd Appleton and his 
successors shall have the liberty of a highway to the Towne by 
the great River through the sd land as heretofore," with provision 
for fence etc. 10-11-1681 (Ips. Deeds 4: 486). 
The original grant to Samuel Appleton was bounded by the River and by 
Mile Brook, and the Appleton title seems not to have been extinguished 


• ' 


although Dea. Goodhue had sold two lots in this tract. John Appleton, 

eon of Samuel, gave the deed for the first lot. 

On March 14, 1693, Joseph Calef, Thomas Potter and Antony Potter 

were granted liberty to dam the water and build a fulling mill on Mile brook. 

The mill was not built apparently, as Edmund Potter, Abraham Tilton, Jr. 

and Antony Potter petitioned to set up a dam and grist mill in Mile brook, 

near the house of Thomas Potter, not to damnify Col. Appleton's saw mill. 

This was granted March 24, 1696, and the mill was built. The dam and 

an old mill building still remain. 

Thomas Potter had a house therefore near this dam and mill in 1696, 

but the land seems to have belonged to Samuel Potter. By his will, Samuel 


" to son Samuel besides what I have given him a deed of on y e south- 
erly side of y e brook I give him ... all my land on y f side of sd brook. 

He shall always have an outlett to ye Town Common from his house 

to y e Common as y e way now goes.'' 

To his son Thomas 

"all lands on y e north side the brook and after wife's decease all lands 

housings" etc. 

Proved Aug. 2, 1714 

(Pro. Rec. 311:173-5). 

Thomas Potter was the owner therefore, from 1714, of the principal part of 
the present Barnard farm, but Thomas and Antony Potter sold to Thomas 
Norton, tanner, whose establishment and dwelling were near Saltonstall's 
brook, 13 acres, bounded by Antony Potter, north, Thomas and Antony, 
northwest, and Thomas Potter, southwest. March 7, 1733 (86: 70). 
Daniel Potter succeeded to the ownership and sold to his son, Richard, the 
house and 16 acres, beginning at the corner of Robert Potter's shop, and 
bounded on the other side by the brook, "as it runs to the land of Thomas 
Norton, then on land of Richard Potter and Jonathan Potter to first 
bounds." July 5, 1762 (119:155). 

Richard Potter married the widow Lydia Symmes, their publishment 
being announced on Feb. 16, 1760, and a daughter, Sarah, was baptized Dec. 
28, 1760. She lived to be 89 years old, and in her old age used to tell very 
interesting stories of her childhood, which are remembered by her grand- 
nephew Wallace P. Willett. The house in which she was born was not on 
the same spot as the present dwelling, but occupied the site of the original 
house. In her childhood, a heavy growth of oaks and hickories yet re- 
mained near the river, and from the swamp the cries of wolves and other 
wild animals were plainly heard at night. Her mother in turn had told her 
of her own childhood in the ancient 'garrison house,' on the same spot 
built of logs and surrounded by a stockade or wall of logs, some ten feet 
high, with loopholes for musket fire in case of Indian attack. The Indians 
were friendly -and came frequently to the house for food and tobacco. Grad- 
ually their attitude became less friendly and the dwellers in the lonely house 
began to plan for their safety in case of an Indian assault. The cellar was 

2. > 






built up with logs, and by removing some of these a little closet or cave was 
dug and cleverly concealed. 

One day. when the men were at work in the fields, and the mother of 
the household was busy with her dinner, the little girl discovered Indians 
landing from their canoes in war-paint and fully armed. The mother saw that 
it was impossible to give the alarm. Hurrying the children into the cellar, 
she threw open the gate of the stockade, and dropped her hood and shawl 
as though they had been lost in the flight of the family, then, rushing back, 
she opened the log shelter and hid with her children. 

The cunning ruse deceived the Indians. They entered, helped them- 
selves to the dinner, and smoked at their leisure, doing no damage, how- 
ever, to the house or furniture. Finally two or three sought the pork barrel 
in the cellar, and the poor children nearly died from fright, lest the slightest 
noise should betray their presence. But the Indians had no suspicion, and 
having helped themselves from the friendly barrel, they withdrew, and the 
whole band returned to their canoes. 

This ancient tradition of the early days is a true picture, no doubt, of 
the anxiety and fear which beset every family on the outskirts of the vil- 
lages for many years. The statement that it was a garrison house is very 
interesting. The committee for Essex County reported in March 1675-6 
that Ipswich was well defended with its fort about the meeting house and 
the garrison houses. 1 The location of the latter is not given, but it is very- 
probable that the scattered families dwelling in this neighborhood would 
have had at least one well defended house for a common refuge. 

Richard Potter bequeathed his estate to his son Jonathan (proved Oct. 
5, 1789. Pro. Rec. 360:290). James, the son of Jonathan, acquired the 
interest of Julia Ann, who became the wife of Levi Willett (Aug. 28, 1832) 
and Symmes, Oct, 30, 1837 (303:160). His widow, Mrs. Rhoda B. Potter, 
sold the farm, now including the whole tract except the Norton lot, 30 acres 
in all, to Capt. Symmes Potter, May 4, 1846 (368: 6). Asa Wade bought of 
Capt, Potter, Feb. 12, 1857(547:96) and the Walter Brown lot in 1863. 
He sold to Charles A. Campbell, March, 20, 1894 (1406: 500), and he, in 
turn, to George E. Barnard, Oct. 20, 1899 (1591 : 475). Under the hand of 
the last two owners, the ancient farm has become a beautiful estate, to 
which the name Riverbend is happily given. 

The thirteen acre lot, sold to Thomas Norton in 1733, was sold by 
Daniel Potter to Moses W T illett, Nov. 20, 1810(192:75). The administrator 
of Willett sold " the Potter lot," ten and a quarter acres, to William Man- 
ning, March 8, 1820 (270: 36). Mr. Manning built the house and barn and 
lived here until his death. His heirs sold to George Fellows, Sept. 7, 1860 
(612: 246), the Fellows heirs to Willard B. and William H. Kinsman, April 
13, 1883 (1105: 201). Mr. Albert W. Smith bought of the Kinsman heirs, 
May 24, 1894 (1412:499) and sold to Asa Burnham, Dec. 14, 1895 (1465: 
274), Burnham to Mrs.Lavinia A. Brown, April 15, 1902 (1670:312) who 
conveyed to Mrs. Lavinia Campbell, wife of Chas. A. Campbell, Oct. 27, 

1 Maes. Archives Book 63 leaf 184. Ipswich in Mass. Bay Colony, pp. 207, 208. 



1904 (1758:111). George E. Barnard bought the house and ten acres, but 
the 23 acre "Smith lot" on the east side of the highway was retained by 
Mr. Campbell, and is included in his estate. 

The remainder of the ancient Potter farm was in the possession of 
Samuel Potter, as we have noted, in 1714. He bequeathed his estate to his 
son Samuel, (proved Feb. 29, 1747 Pro. Rec. 327:508-9), but Richard sold 
Samuel a 14 acre lot, fronting on the road, and bounded by Oliver and 
Nathaniel Appleton's land on the south, April 3, 1775 (134:125). Moses 
Willett acquired possession and the widow Martha sold at auction to her 
sons George and Levi, and conveyed her dower as well, April 1, 1830 (257: 
36). The Ipswich Bank foreclosed and took the property, and sold the 
" Willett Farm" about 80 acres, to Daniel Whipple. April 7, 1840 (321:3). 
Calvin Whipple sold to Harriet C. Smith, April 3, 1868 (744:70), and her 
heirs still own. 

Rev. Nathaniel Rogers's Gravel Pit Pasture. 

Returning now to the east side of the old highway, the "Gravel Pit 
Pasture" as it was called, including all the land from Saltonstall's brook to 
"Parting Paths," was granted probably to Rev. Nathaniel Rogers. It 
was sold by Daniel Rogers, his grandson, and son of Pres. John, to Jonathan 
Wade, who bequeathed "the pasture I purchased of Mr. Daniel Rogers, 
commonly called Gravel Pit Pasture," to his three granddaughters. The 
inventory gives its area as 20 acres but it was divided into three lots of 10 
acres each. The northern lot was assigned to Elizabeth (Cogswell) Farley, 
wife of Capt. John Farley, the middle one to Abigail Cogswell, who mar- 
ried Thomas Pickard of Rowley, the southern lot to Susanna Cogswell, 
who became the wife of Moses Treadwell, in 1749 (Pro. Rec. 329:133). 

Mr. Pickard sold the ten acres settled on his wife to Nathaniel Farley, 
April 7, 1766 (125: 237), who conveyed to Abraham Choate, April 18, 1769 
(125:231). Samuel Kinsman was the next owner, and he sold to Asa 
Baker, March 26, 1789 (149:264). Baker acquired the interest of Capt. 
John Farley, the northern dhision. In the distribution of his estate, ten 
acre lots were set off to Dorcas Brown and Polly, the wife of Michael Brown, 
April 6, 1814. After Michael's death, Polly sold the whole twenty acres 
with the new dwelling and barn to Ira Worcester, reserving to the Town 
right to dig gravel, April 23, 1841 (324 : 95). This pit was sold to Worcester 
by the Town, Aug. 9, 1854 (509: 293). A brick powder house of the familiar 
conical shape was built on the estate by the Town in 1792. Mr. Worcester 
sold Jane Rowell the half acre lot on which she built a dwelling now owned 
by Mr. Henry P. Homans, Aug. 31, 1865 (697:274) and the remainder to 
Ellen M. Burnham, wife of Frank H. Burnham, reserving right to the Town 
to keep the powder house, April 18, 1871 (821: 150). The Town attached 
no interest unfortunately to the picturesque structure, and it fell into ruin 
and disappeared. Albert S. Brown purchased the estate from Mrs. 
Burnham's heirs, Feb. 27, 1889 (1243: 514) and occupies it. 

The third division was sold by Moses Treadwell and Susanna (Cogs- 

3 W 
f» jo 

C fe 


i * 

^^gp ^^y^^ 

I 1 







.. m 

- 1 ,:^: 

St *„ 

4S. . 

■■ V* 




i if 


t|C, 3'-' •', 

$» & 



^•^' ; 

r*&&*£ -"■■ < %^ ~ % 

Ja&Bl %&£**.* 


well) to their brother-in-law Capt. John Farley, May 13, 1773 (138:151). 
Executions against Farley were granted to John Adams, Benj. Merrill, 
Aaron Perley and- Sarah Willet, July 10, 1820. (Exec. No. 3: 211, 212, 213a, 
213b, 221). A six acre lot was assigned to Aaron Perley and sold by him 
to Ira Worcester and was included in his transfer to Mrs. Burnham. Sarah 
Willet was assigned an interest in one acre and Adams and Merrill received 
the balance. Merrill sold his interest to Jeremiah Kimball, Jr., Jan. 24, 
1824 (692:47). Adams sold to the same, March 24, 1824 (692: 46) and 
Sarah Willet had already sold him her interest Novem. 24, 1823 (256:28). 
Jeremiah gave the four acre lot thus acquired to his son. Charles Kimball, 
Dec. 11, 1839 (692:47) who sold to Maynard Whittier, Dec. 26, 1873 (900: 
105). Mr. Whittier built the house, and still makes his home here. 

The Inner Common of the South Eighth. 

Lots Nos. 14 to 19. 

The great tract of pasture, meadow and swamp, bounded by County 
Road, Essex Road, the Candlewood Road, Fellows Lane and Lakeman's 
Lane, was a part of the common land of the Town, and when the great area 
of common lands was divided into Eighths in 1709, ' it became part of the 
division known as the South Eighth. The South Eighth was divided again 
into several sections, Gould's Pasture, Ringe's Pasture, Walker's Island, 
etc. and this tract, bounded as above, which was known as The Inner Com- 
mon or Pasture of the South Eighth. The Town voted in 1709, 

"That any commoner who has one or more rights and has built one 
or more new houses in the place of old ones shall have only the right for 
a new house which belonged to the old one." 

The list of old and new commoners as they were styled was settled and 
the right of pasturage in these commons was restricted to these commoners, 
who were invariably residents of the section of the Town nearest to these 
several Eighths. A few years later, we find the proprietors of Eighths 
had become incorporated and each had its own organization, transacted 
business and kept its own record. So far as known to me, the ancient 
records of the "Thick Woods and Pigeon Hill Eighth," now in the posses- 
sion of the heirs of D. F. Appleton, and the Jeffries Neck E'g ;th are the 
only ones that have been preserved. About 1726, the proprietors of 
the Inner Common began to apportion individual shares an i gradually 
division lines were run and individual titles were established. 

Francis Crompton's Lot. 

No. 14 on Diagram. 
Beginning with the lot on tie south corner of County tload and Essex 
Road which is alluded to as the "Parting of the way leading to Chebacco," 
in 1732 (61:115) and "y e parting of y e paths" in 1738 '(77.23) Francis 

1 See Ipswich in Mass. Bay Colony, p. 73, and Chap, on Common Lands. 


Crompton, the inn-keeper, whose famous hostelry was nearly opposite the 
present Heard mansion, owned about 19 acres. By his will, (proved March 
16, 1730, Pro. Rec. 319:209-212,) 9£ acres on the comer of the Windmill 
Hill Pasture was assigned to his daughter Hannah Perkins. A 5^ acre lot 
adjoining and fronting on the way to Chebacco was assigned to Ann Cromp- 
ton and 4 acres, the eastern lot, was settled on the widow Hannah. 

The daughters sold their interest to Thomas Manning, the blacksmith, 
Dec. 1, 1732 (61:115). He bequeathed to his sons, Joseph and Richard 
(will proved May 23, 1737 Pro. Rec. 322: 49-53). Dr. Joseph's half in- 
cluded the land on the corner, Richard's half faced the County Road,60uth 
of Joseph's. The widow Crompton's third was sold to Philemon Dane prior 
to 1742 (104: 77 ''Dane's other land") whose heirs conveyed to Dr. Manning 
in 1758, 1762 and 1764 (116:121, 122). The deed of Paul Little of Fal- 
mouth describes it as " the house and garden I purchased of James Dean," 
but no other allusion to the dwelling occurs and it must have disappeared 
about this time. Dr. Joseph Manning purchased a six acre lot of his 
brother, Richard, June 1, 1768 (123:169) and an orchard lot of one acre, 
Nov. 6, 1770 (123:194). By this purchase he became the owner of the en- 
tire Crompton lot. 

He sold it in three lots to his son Jacob, March 1, 1779 (138:93) Feb. 1, 
1781, and July 8, 1782 (141:7). Jacob conveyed to Dr. John Manning, 
Nov. 16, 1804 (175:119), Manning sold to Thomas Beckford, Jan. 4, 1805 
(175:249), Beckford to John Heard, Feb. 25, 1814 (209:105), Heard to 
Richard Potter, Nov. 2, 1S32 (276:195). Potter sold the lot containing 
16 acres or more with buildings 1 to Henry Wilson. Jr., April 30, 1846 (374: 
105). Other transfers followed, to S. S. Skinner, March 31, 1847 (485:128), 
to Daniel C. Manning of Salem, May 21, 1862 (637:235), to John C. Carlisle, 
April 1, 1865 (682:55). Ira B. Carlisle, bro. of John, conveyed it to Wm. G. 
Brown and Abram D. Wait, April 4, 1871 (822:269). 

The lot was divided by them. Land on the corner and the buildings 
were sold to William Kimball, Sept. 14, 1877 (984:7). His widow and 
daughters sold their interest in 8 acres to William Kimball, Jr., son of the 
deceased, March 15, 1887 (1193:113). Mr. Lewis H. Pingree purchased 
the interest of William in the house and a part of the land, March 13, 
1906 (1817:246). Mr. Kimball sold the remainder of the lot to George 
E. Barnard, Oct. 19, 1906 (1846:105). 

A small lot, 200 ft. front, 100 ft. deep, on County Road, was sold to 
Alfred Norman, Sept. 11, 1875 (936:165) who conveyed to Margaret Buzzell 
wife of Isaac, Feb. 3, 1877 (970:214). A house was built which is still 
owned by the Buzzell heirs. 

A larger lot, south of the Buzzell lot, was sold to Wallace P. Willett, 
Aug. 30, 1S75 (936:246) and was included in his sale to Frances E. Richard- 
son, May 17, 1902, which will be noted more particularly in the sketch of the 
adjoining lot. The remains of the ancient stone wall, which formed the 
original boundary of the Crompton lot, are still in place. 

1 The house had been moved from the Sturgis lot to this site. 

















Rev. John Rogers's Lot. 

No. 15 on Diagram. 

Ten acres adjoining the Crompton lot were "laid out," as the phrase 
was, in the division of the Common to Rev. John Rogers, Pastor of the Ips- 
wich Church, and sold by him to Thomas Norton, Jun., Oct. 16, 1741 (82: 
277). In the division of his estate, the Rogers Pasture, so called, on Wind- 
mill Hill, was assigned to the widow, Mary. (Pro. Rec. 330:426.) It was 
acquired byThomas, the eldest son, who sold it to Joseph Appleton. measur- 
ing eight and a quarter acres, March 10, 1767 (123:107). Norton owned 
the next lot, as well, and he may have changed the original lines, or what is 
more likely, as Mr. Norton was a Harvard graduate and a school master, 
he may have surveyed the lot and determined its actual size. The traces 
of an old stone wall probably mark the original southern line of the Rogers 

Thomas Appleton, son and heir of Joseph, sold the Rogers Pasture to 
John Crocker, April 7, 1787 (146:270), v/ho sold to Aaron Smith, Feb. 12, 
1788 (147:133). Smith sold to Amos Jones 3 acres on May 23, 1817 (217: 
203) and the remaining 5 acres, Dec. 9, 1818 (233:10). The heirs of Jones 
sold to Patrick Riley, May 18, 1870 (798:79), who conveyed to Wallace P. 
Willett, Sept. 20, 1880 (1045:211), who already owned a part of the Man- 
ning lot as has been mentioned. He sold 5 acres, which included the latter 
and part of the Rogers Pasture, to Frances E., wife of Francis H. Richard- 
eon, May 17, 1902 (1676:384). The Richardson house stands on the Rogers 

Thomas Norton Senior's Lot. 

No. 16 on Diagram. 

The third lot in the old South Eighth Pasture was laid out to Thomas 
Norton, Sr. and was owned by Thos. Norton, Jr. in 1741. Joseph Appleton 
acquired possession and it fell to his heirs, as well as the lot already con- 
sidered. Thomas Appleton, son of Joseph, sold to John Crocker, Jr. a five 
acre lot, April 9, 1787 (146:270) and a smaller one of an acre and three 
quarters, Dec. 13, 1787 (146:107) which may have been part of the third 
original division and Crocker sold both to Daniel Ross, Feb. 10, 1789. Ross 
was a Revolutionary soldier and a cabinet maker by trade. His residence, 
known later as the Parsons house, still stands on the corner of Elm and 
County Sts. He clung tenaciously to the old order and wore his cue and 
small clothes as long as he lived. His tools are in the possession of the His- 
torical Society. As he acquired the adjoining land, the history of this lot 
is included in that of its neighbors. 

Joseph Appleton sold 6 acres to Alexander Troop, who lived on the 
Essex Road, on the lot now known as the "Hobson lot," Jan. 20, 1791 (152: 
180). Troop also owned the lot, fronting on the Essex Road, and reaching 
back of several of the lots which had their frontage on the County Road. 
His heirs sold the whole lot, including 15 acres, to John Farley, Junior, 
and Thomas Farley, the tanners, who lived near the site of the Parsonage. 


Their barn and tan house and other buildings used by Josiah Stackpole as a 
soap factory, were torn down in 1906, and the Giles Firmin garden laid out 
on the site. The Farleys sold to Amos Jones, Feb. 17, 1820 (223:160). 
Thomas Wade acquired it, and by an exchange of adjoining land, conveyed 
the title to Daniel Ross, May 22, 1824 (235:184) who owned already the 
land on the north and south. 

Robert Calef s Lot. 

No. 17 on Diagram. 
The next original lot, assigned apparently to Robert Calef, owned by 
his heirs in 1742, was sold by John Calef to John Appleton, 4i acres, Nov. 
6, 1752 (98:36). His son William, heir of his estate, sold to Stephen Brown, 
March 16, 1807 (180:122), who sold to Daniel Ross, March 29, 1817 (213: 
28). The old soldier, having acquired a goodly 19 acre tract by his suc- 
cessive purchases, sold the whole to Capt. Symmes Potter, Sept. 18, 1838 
(308:91), who bequeathed it with his other lands to his sister, Mrs. Julia P. 
Willett. Her son, Wallace P. inherited at her death. 

Thomas Manning's Lot. 

No. 18 on Diagram. 

Thomas Manning, the blacksmith, who bought the 20 acre lot on "Part- 
ing Paths" from Mr. Crompton, was assigned a lot of equal size, which is 
included in Charles A. Campbell's estate. In his will (proved May 23, 
1737 Pro. Rec. 322:49-53), he bequeathed to his son Richard, his shop, 
barn and all his blacksmith tools, his negro man, Daniel, and a full third 
of the tract laid out to him in the Inner Common. He gave a third to his 
son John, and another to Joseph. The sons agreed to a division, Richard 
taking the lot adjoining the Calef land, Joseph the next, and John the 
third, on the corner of Lakeman's Lane, May 24, 1738 (77:23). : 

The Richard Manning lot was owned later by Robert and John Potter. 
The administrator of Robert sold his interest to Stephen Brown, 3 d , April 

8, 1778 (149:262). Joseph Boardman sold a quarter interest in this lot to 
Walter Brown, son of Stephen, April 2, 1824 (235:69), and he acquired a 
complete title. His administrator sold the lot, 6 acres, to Asa Wade, June 

9, 1863 (652:179) who sold to Chas. A. Campbell, Mar. 20, 1894 (1406:500). 

Dr. Joseph Manning acquired his brother's third and his son, Dr. John 
"for love and affection paid me by my daughter and one dollar," conveyed 
12 acres to Lucretia Smith, the wife of Asa, May 14, 1806 (179:169). 
Asa and Lucretia Smith sold to Richard Manning, May 22, 1817 (213:154). 
In the inventory of Richard (Pro. Rec. 397:548, June 7, 1821) it is entered 
as "about eleven acres of land called the common lot," but in the con- 
veyance by Richard Manning's heirs to William Manning, it is called the 
Smith lot, Jan. 24, 1833 (270:37). 

Mr. Manning enlarged the lot by the* purchase of the Birch Pasture, 
so called, 9 acres, from George Fellows, of Salem, one of the heirs of Eph- 
raim Fellows, Jan. 8, 1833 (270:38). His heirs sold the homestead on the 


v.- •. t. \i...J3UA I'rtWi^f' 



opposite side of County Road and the 23 acres to George Fellows,, who 
removed from Salem and spent his last years near the place of his birth, 
Sept. 7, 1860 (612:246). His heirs sold to Willard B. and William H. Kins- 
man, April 13, 1883 (1105:201) and the 23 acre lot was included in the 
successive conveyances to Albert W. Smith, May 24, 1S94 (1412:499), to 
Asa Burnham, Dec. 14, 1895 (1465:274) to Mrs. Lavinia A. Brown, April 
15, 1902 (1670:312) and to Mrs. Lavinia Campbell, wife of Charles A., Oct. 
27, 1904 (1758:111). Mr. Campbell also purchased of W. P. Willett three 
and a third acres, part of the original Calef lot, Oct. 12, 1900 (1621:444). 
The beautiful mansion on this estate, which bears the appropriate name of 
Fairview, was built in 1900. 

Thomas Firman's Lot. 

No. 19 on Diagram. 

The natural boundary of the Inner Common of the South Eighth, of 
which we have been speaking, on the south side, would seem to have been 
the v/ater course, variously known as Mile Brook or River, or The Mile 
Brook or "the river that runneth, out of the great Pond," or Annable's 
Brook occasionally, or Saw Mill Brook. As there were other brooks called 
Two Mile Brook and Three Mile Brook, the length of the stream seems 
to have suggested the name. 

But for some reason which can not be guessed even, a generous tract 
of land bordering on the brook, reaching from the present County Road to 
the Candlewood road, was granted at a very early date to three men. 
Thomas Firman was the earliest known owner of a tract which was sold for 
twenty acres, in 1647, but a little later for forty acres. Richard Saltonstall, 
Esq. owned a forty acre tract on the east side of Firman's, which was sold 
by his heirs as fifty acres a century later and John Andrews owned from 
Saltonstall's line to the Candlewood road. Each of these will be considered 
in due time, but at present we are concerned only with the Firman lot. 

Firman sold twenty acres upland and meadow, bounded by the Mile 
brook southwest, the Saltonstall pasture southeast and " the rest on common 
ground," to Thomas Low and Edward Bragg, Oct. 27, 1647 (Ips. Deeds 1: 
35). Bragg eventually disposed of his interest and Low sold or bequeathed 
the whole lot to his son John. Of these transfers no record remains. 

John Low, Senior, and Dorcas, sold 10 acres to Joseph Fellows, Jan. 
1, 1689 (10:8) and 30 acres to his son John, Junior, reserving to his own 
use 2 acres next the brook, Oct. 10, 1692 (10:148). John Jr. sold 4 
acres to Ruth Fellows, widow of Joseph, Dec. 7, 1693 (10:5). The small 
two acre lot bounded by the Bay Road w r est, and Mile brook south, came 
into the possession of Thorndike Low, son of John. The remainder of the 
farm was sold by John Low, Junior, measuring forty acres, with all the 
buildings, "y e easterly side upon y e common land of the Town of Ipswich 
and northwesterly upon sd. common," to Abraham Tilton, Jun., Novem. 
19, 1699 (15:296) who sold to Thomas Manning, the locksmith, who owned 
the two large lots which have been considered, February 1706-7 (19:153). 


In his will (proved May 23, 1737 Pro. Rec. 322:49-53) he directed, "I give 
to my son, John Manning, all that my farm I bought of Abraham Tilton, 
containing 50 acres, be it more or less, with all the buildings standing 
upon it." 

Thorndike Low's two acres and buildings had come into the possession 
of Eliezer Foster, who sold or mortgaged his modest estate to Capt. Daniel 
Ringe, March 27, 1722 (39:24.5) but acquired it again, Oct. 5, 1727 (49:254). 
On March 3, 1741 (84:1) he sold to John Manning his neighbor, "my dwell- 
ing and land containing about four acres being the same I purchased of Capt. 
Daniel Ringe, and the land I purchased of Simon Wood, Thomas Wade 
and Jonathan Fellows, Committee to the Proprietors in the South Eighth." 
John Manning's will (proved Sept. 11, 1775 Pro. Rec. 351:335) be- 
queathed half the farm, now estimated as about 60 acres, to his son John, 
and a quarter to each of the other sons, Thomas and Richard. John Man- 
ning, Jr. bequeathed to his sons Richard and William in equal parts "one 
undivided half of about sixty acres, lying in common with John Manning, 
3d." His inventory includes "one dwelling house and other buildings, 
with 81 rods under and adjoining, as well as the undivided half of the farm," 
April, 1814 (Pro. Rec. 385:168, 232). Richard acquired his brother's in- 
terest and at his death, Judith, his widow, and the sons, Daniel C. and 
George, then residents of Salem, sold their interest to William, son of Rich- 
ard, including the " Smith lot," the purchase of which by Richard has been 
already noted, Jan. 24, 1833 (270:37). William Manning, bought the lot 
on the west side of County Road and built a new home and sold his house 
and 29 acres to Alfred Manning, April 26, 1858 (569:235), who conveyed to 
J. Frank Smith, May 9, 1873 (881:174). Smith sold the farm "40 acres 
tillage and meadow with buildings" to William L. Sturgis, the present 
owner, April 20, 1877 (974:256). 

The eastern half of the John Manning farm, bequeathed to Richard 
and Thomas, was owned eventually by Richard. His son Richard, Jr., of 
Salem, conveyed to John Manning, 3 d , his right to the farm, one half and 
one acre more, undivided with his brother John, May 8, 1795 (160:23). Mr. 
Ebenezer Fall married Abigail the daughter of John Manning. At the 
decease of Mr. Manning, John W. Dodge and iiis wife Sarah (Manning) sold 
their interest to Mr. Fall, March 13, 1845 (882:266) and a small lot, ad- 
joining, May 7, 1859 (882 : 267). He sold the farm to Mrs. Lavinia A. Brown 
June 10, 1905 (17S3:278). The present dwelling was built by John Man- 
ning, 3 d . 

The Bay Road, it has been said, was laid out in 1640 by a Committee 
acting under the direction of the General Court in the precise location 
County Road occupies to-day. The road was defined "by marked trees 
over Mr. Apple tons meadow, called Parlye Meadow & from thence by Mr. 
Hubbards farm house." The low, swampy ground, over which a broad 
causeway has since been built in Ipswich and Hamilton, was an embarras- 
sing obstacle to travel. 

But the task of constructing a proper highway was begun about the 


time when the road was formally laid out. The Town Record, under the 
date, The 4 th of the 2 mo. 1643 contains the item, 

"Granted to Mr. William Hubbard the p'cell of land viewed by Mr. 

Appleton and George Giddings containing about 50 acres 25 whereof 

is in consideration of the highway that leadeth through his farme and 

the other 25 acres are for work to be done towards making the great 

swamp sufficient. Mr. Saltonstall Mr. Appleton Robert Andrews and 

George Giddings are to pportion the work." 

Presumably the work was done and the Long Bridge or corduroy, which 

gave the name Long Bridge Swamp to the locality, may have been built at 

that time. 

It has been a matter of current tradition that in order to avoid this 
swamp, the original highway left the present County Road near the bridge 
over Mile River and followed Lakeman's Lane and Fellows Lane, and a 
way over land now owned by James H. Proctor to Mile River, where a 
bridge was built with long causeways on either side at a very early date, 
and then on the high ground on the south side of Mile River to the main 
road again. 

A grant of 40 acres had been made to Richard Jacob "on the north- 
west syde the River that runneth out of the great pond" before 1638 and 
this substantial bridge and causeway gave easy access to his house, which 
was erected on the lot, near the bridge. 

More detailed study of this ancient bridge and the highways which 
led to it will be made when the lands adjacent are considered. At present 
it may be noted that the first trace of a public highway in this locality oc- 
curs in the vote of the Town on Dec. 6, 1658. "Ordered, that George Gid- 
dings and Edward Brag are apoynted to lay out a highway through Mr. 
Saltingstall's 40 acres and a pt. of Jo. Andrews his farm to the Bridge over 
the River to Rich. Jacobs House, a rod and a half wide." 

A road already existed, no doubt, before this date, as the bridge was 
already built. Mr. Saltonstall's forty acres is now included in James 
H. Proctor's large estate. The John Andrews farm was owned afterwards 
by William Fellows and his heirs and is now included in the farm of 
Benjamin R. Horton. The way thus laid out is evidently the present 
Fellows Lane, from the Candlewood road to the old cart path leading 
toward Mile River that is still in use, across the land of the Daniel Appleton 
heirs. No mention is made of laying out a way from the Bay Road to 
this old causeway and bridge. But a way existed and was in common use, 
as appears from the complaint made by some inhabitants of Ipswich and 
Wenham in July, 1727, "that there hath. been an highway used for 60 or 
70 years from Mr. Appleton's mill 1 in that part of Ipswich towards Che- 
bacco," now closed by the proprietors of the commons, etc. 2 

This old way, then, was undoubtedly in use in 1657, but the broad 
high way over Mile River and through the Appleton Farm was laid out in 

1 Major Appleton's saw mill was on the South side of the Mile River, near the 

2 Records Gen. Sessions Court, pp. 53 and 59, 1727. 


1640, and a substantial thoroughfare, no doubt,' had been constructed 
many years before the other road was established. It may be possible, to 
be sure, that for a few years the travelled path avoided the swamp by cross- 
ing the river at the Jacobs farm, but no evidence exists to substantiate the 

The complaint just mentioned was made to the Selectmen. Failing of 
any relief, the complainants carried their case to the General Session Court, 
affirming that this road was " of Great use to that part of the Town to go to 
their market and about their occasions and for them and many others to go 
to their farms and lands in that part of the Town, 1 which way the proprie- 
tors of Ipswich have stopped up by fencing in their Divisions of Common 
for the opening of which the Petitioners made their application." The 
Court appointed a Committee of three to make inspection and proper in- 
quiries. This was done forthwith, and a report was made "that the way 
used and petitioned for is of more benefit to the petitioners and others than 
damage to the Proprietors." 

The Town or the Proprietors failed to take any action, and the Court 
proceeded 1 to appoint a Committee " to open the old way above mentioned 
by laying out the same two rods wide." The Committee reported, July 17, 
1728. 3 "We have laid out said way as followeth, beginning near said mill 
where the old way leadeth toward Chebacco & so staked said way Two 
rods wide till it cometh to the Road leading from the Country Road to 
Chebacco," i. e., for the most part the present Fellows Lane. 

But now Thomas Manning, whose land was cut by the road, became an 
aggrieved party and he complained to the Court in 1735 that "he is de- 
barred from improving a quantity of land next Elder Foster's land," and 
asked that the highway might be relocated. This was referred to a Com- 
mittee and report was made, July 8, 1735. 3 A new location was made, 
beginning at Eliezer Foster's fence, crossing his land about 3 rods from the 
northerly corner of his barn by Manning's fence to the road, which was 

But once again the good offices of the Court were sought in 1741. On 
August 11, "Upon reading the petition of Symonds Epes, Jonathan Wade, 
Esqrs & sundry others, that the way leading from the Saw Mill Bridge 
to Chebacco Road now going up the Hill before Mr. Eleazer Foster's House 
hath by long experience been found very inconvenient by reason of the 
length and heigth of the Hill praying that it may go in upon Mr. John Man- 
ning's land where it will be very convenient to the Improvers etc.," a 
Committee was again appointed. It reported that John Manning lay out 
the highway through his own land. John Manning reported on Jan. 19, 
1741-2 that he had laid out a way 2 rods wide all along by the southwest- 
erly side of Dr. Joseph Manning's land, being about 36 rods on the land from 
the Country road to the former way leading towards Chebacco. 4 Here it 
remains, now bearing the name Lakeman's Lane. 

* P. 74, Court Records. ■ P. 81, Court Records. 3 P. 390, Court Records. 
• P. 747, Court Records. 


The ancient road evidently ascended the hill on the Sturgis property- 
near the bridge. Faint traces of it are still visible and on the slope of the 
hill, a little way from the main road, the site of a house is easily seen, and 
the well near by. This may have been the ancient Thorndike Lowe dwell- 
ing afterwards owned by Eleazer Foster or perhaps the original John Lowe 
dwelling on the Manning farm. 



Samuel Apple ton's Farm. 

No. 20 on Diagram. 
"Granted Mr. Samuel Appleton by the company of freemen . . . 
a farme containing foure hundred and sixty acres more or less medow 
and upland as it lyeth bounded by the River commonly called the 
Mile brook on the Northeast and by the great River on the Northwest 
on the West in part by the Land of William Warener and by a swamp 
on the Southeast and partly also at the same end by the Land of Hugh 
Sherrat to enjoy all the sayd Landes to him his heirs and assigns 
forever. Entered into the Town booke folio 16 the 20 th of December 

"The farme further bounded from the Land of William Warener 
by markt trees and a water course and then [ ] markt trees to the 
gate standing upon the high [ ] leading to Salem from thence as 
the fence runs [ ] the aspes and soe with a stray t line to the brook. 7 ' 
It will be noted that Dec. 20 th 163S is the date of the entry of the grant, 
not of the grant itself. This is unknown. Under the date Feb. 13 th , 1636, 
the entry in the Town Record occurs. " Granted to John Severance, a six 
acre planting lott on the farr side the Brooke, and on this side Appletons 
farme. ,, It is also recorded that certain lands were granted to Thomas 
Wells in the year 1635, but the entry was made on June 1, 1638. The fre- 
quent allusions to Folios of various numbers in the earliest records and to 
old books, which had been copied, show that the contemporaneous record 
of Town votes does not exist. In fact, the first volume of our present 
Town Records is a composite work, compiled by the late Nathaniel R. 
Farley from two ancient books of record, identical in considerable degree, 
yet with marked differences, the character and critical historic value of 
which are yet to be determined. The date of the grant of this great farm 
cannot be decided, therefore, and may be coincident with the arrival of 
Mr. Appleton. 

It is recorded, under the date 2 nd day of March, 1637. 
"All those that have planting ground by the River side beyond Mr. 
Appleton 's are to take the lott layers and lay out a highway as may be 
most convenient as themselves can best agree and return it to the eleven 

This alludes undoubtedly to the road now called Waldingfield Road 
which led to the river lots of William Warner, Mark Quilter and others 
and the great 1200 acre farm of Richard Saltonstall, Esq. It was not 
much of a highway in the modern sense of the term as the east end of 
Quilters 20 acres came "up to a path leading to Mr. Saltonstalls farm." 1 
In 1648, Mr. Appleton received the grant of "a little p'cell of land 
lying by the Highway leading to his farm by the Pequid lotts," 2 and in 

» Town Record, 1638. 

* Granted to the men who march*d against the Pequods. They have not been 


16.50, there was ''granted to Mr. Apleton a p'cell of ground (in full satis- 
faction for the Country highway going through his -farm) beyond the 
swamp to make his fence straight not exceeding eight acres." 1 Reac- 
quired also Pari ye 's meadow. 

Samuel Apple. on died in June 1670, in Rowley, where it is supposed 
he made his home the latter years of his life with his daughter Sarah, wife 
of the Rev. Samuel Phillips. It may be that he made conveyance of his 
farm before his death, as John Appleton, his elder son, sold Anthony Potter 
]6 acre;, bounded by Mile brook on the east, the Mill River on the north 
and land of Lieut. Samuel Appleton west, Dec. 22, 16(34 (Ips. Deeds 2: 403) 
and Lieut. Samuel, his younger son, sold John Adams, a house and 20 acres 
"near Samuels farm," Dec. 2, 1665 (Ips. Deeds 2:513). With the excep- 
tion of the 16 acre lot which his brother sold to Anthony Potter, Samuel 
seems to have owned the whole farm. He conveyed 18 acres more to 
Anthony Potter, 10-11-16S1 (Ips. Deeds 3:486). 

Here Major Appleton made his home in his declining years. His public 
services had been great and arduous, as a military commander, an Assistant, 
and an uncompromising opponent of Gov. Andros. 2 He owned a house in 
the town of Ipswich, but preferred the farm. He had a saw mill, which 
abutted on the southeast corner of the bridge, known sometimes as Saw 
Mill Bridge or Mile Brpok Bridge, and the mill pond flowed the low ground 
over several acres probably. 

The name, Appleton's Bridge, was also in use. On March 2 d , 1762, 
Oliver Appleton, who owned the saw mill, and others, petitioned the 
Town concerning t)ie bridge. On May 13 th , it was voted that "Col. Choate, 
Capt. Farley, and Capt. Baker be a Committee to take a view of Appleton's 
Bridge, & consider the expediency of building sd bridge into a stone bridge, 
and inquire what difference in cost between a Plank Bridge and a Rock 
Bridge and report as soon as may be." The Committee reported on 
July 2 nd , and the Town voted, " That said bridge be built into a Rock 
bridge in the most prudent, expeditious and effectual manner, the abut- 
ments & pier & covering rock at ye expense & charge of ye Town, said 
bridge to be built on y e place where it is now began." Col. John Choate 
and Capt. Isaac Smith, who owned the Col. Samuel Appleton farm, were 
appointed the building Committee. The bridge is still in use and ante- 
dates the Choate Bridge by two years. 

Samuel Appleton's sons also settled on the great farm. To John, he 
conveyed by deed a house, and a goodly portion of land on Novem. 12, 
1688 (Ips. Deeds 5:299) and a similar portion without a dwelling to Isaac 
on the same date (11:108). He died in his quiet farm house in 1696. His 
will, which was proved June 16, 1696 (Pro. Rec. 305:168), confirmed to 
John and Isaac the portions they had already received and divided the re- 
mainder to his widow Mary, and his sons, Samuel and Oliver, with a provi- 
sion for the distribution of Bridge croft after his wife's decease. 

1 Town Record. 

* See Ipswich in the Maes. Bay Colony, for the hlitory of hie public iervicei. 


The Isaac Appleton Farm. 

The farm allotted to Isaac lias continued in his direct line to the present 
day. He bore the title of Major and lie had a part in the military opera- 
tions of his time. He died May 22, 1747, and bequeathed the farm to his 
son Isaac. The will was refused allowance, on the ground of his lack of 
mental soundness, but was eventually approved in 1785 (Pro. Rec. 328: 

Isaac, son of the Major, lived to the great age of 91 years. He died 
Dec. 18, 1791, bequeathing his estate to his son, Samuel, by his will, proved 
Jan. 5, 1795. The old house built by Major Isaac was replaced by the 
present dwelling on the same site, which was built by Samuel in 1794. 

Samuel's will, proved June 1819 (Pro. Rec. 893:529-30), divided the 
farm between his sons Samuel Oilman and Timothy. Samuel died on July 
2, 1852, at the age of 81. Timothy survived five years, and died on the 
22 nd of March, 1857, at the age of 78. Gen. James, their brother, removed 
from Portland after Samuel Oilman's death and bought the interests of the 
surviving heirs. His life had been active and conspicuous. His military 
career began while he was residing in Gloucester, during the war of 1812. 
He rose through all the grades and became Brigadier-General of the Massa- 
chusetts militia. As business affairs promised well in Portland, he re- 
moved thither and became prominent in public life. He was an influen- 
tial member of the State Legislature, where he introduced the Prohibitory 
Law, although the credit of its inception has been given to Ncal Dow, and 
became an enthusiastic leader in the Temperance work. He retired from 
public life on his removal to the ancestral farm, but retained his interest in 
public affairs, and made a memorable address to the Ipswich company, at 
the depot, when it started for the front, at the beginning of the Civil War. 

Gen. James Appleton died Aug. 25, 1862 and his son, Daniel Fuller 
Appleton, acquired the interest of the other heirs, and made his summer 
home at the farm until his death in 1904. His son, Francis Randall, suc- 
ceeded him in the ownership of the ancient domain. 

Rev. John Cotton Smith, D. D., who had married Harriette Apple- 
ton, daughter of Gen. James, built a summer cottage near the homestead, 
which received the name, Briar Hill. It is still occupied by the heirs. 

The John Appleton Farm. 

John, son of Major Samuel, died in 1724, at the age of 29, and by his 
will, proved June 8, 1724 (Pro. Rec. 315:107-9) devised his estate to his 
son Benjamin. Benjamin's widow, Elizabeth (Wade), was appointed ad- 
ministratrix, March 1, 1731 (Pro. Rec. 318:74). The heirs sold to Dan- 
ielDeane or Dane, Jan. 13, 1752 (97:322). Mr. Dane conveyed it to hisson 
Nathan Dane, the famous Professor of Law at Harvard, April 4, 1780 
(139:57). He was born in the year 1752, and he may have seen the light, as 
it has been affirmed, in the ancient dwelling whichstill stands, though the 
timbers of the house indicate that it is not the original dwelling built by 


John Appleton. Nathan Dane enlarged his farm by the purchase of 
about 31 acres with a dwelling on the east side of County Road, bounded 
by the land of Oliver Appleton, north, and Mile River, east, from the 
guardian of Jacob Brown, a person non compos mentis, June 30, 1790 (152: 
33). This lot was a part of the original Jacobs farm. Thomas Jacobs had 
bequeathed the farm, containing about 50acres,to Abigail, wife of Thomas 
Brown, which Thomas and Abigail Brown conveyed to Jacob Brown, Feb. 
21, 1758 (123:42). Jacob built the house undoubtedly. On July 13, 
1802 (177:89), Mr. Dane sold to Samuel Safford and it has always been 
affirmed that Daniel Safford, of Boston, who built the fence around Bos- 
ton Common was born in the old house, which still remains. An engraving 
of this dwelling forms the frontispiece to his biography. The Safford 
heirs sold to Benjamin Patch. Dec. 25, 1816 (211:203) and April 19, 1817 
(214: 66, 67). Mr. Patch sold at once the 30 acre lot, which Jacob Brown 
had owned and occupied, to Benjamin and Samuel Patch, April 22, 1817 
(226: 82). The original John Appleton farm remained in his possession 
until his death. The administrator of his estate sold a 20 acre lot to Asa 
Wade, who sold to his son Henry F. Wade. He sold to D. F. Appleton, Jan. 
6, 1868 (740: 158) and it 13 now owned by Francis R. Appleton. Henry 
Wilson and Lucy his wife, heir of Benj. Patch, sold to D. F. Appleton a 
small acre and a half lot, Nov. 23, 1866 (732:82) and ten acres, April 8, 
1869 (772:178). They also sold 12 acres to Francis R. Appleton, De- 
cember 18, 1874 (920:129). The remainder of the farm, 80 acres, with 
the old house, was sold by Mr. and Mrs. Wilson to Daniel Fuller Appleton, 
Jan. 2, 1890 (1269:156) who conveyed to his son, James W. Appleton, 
Feb. 15, 1894 (1402:278) and he in turn, to his brother Francis. 

Reverting to the 30 acre lot between County Road and Mile River, 
6 acres fell to Sally Amiable. Daniel Annable and -other heirs conveyed 
three-fifths of this to Samuel and George Patch, Jan. 1, 1824 (234:138) and 
Ira Dunnels and wife conveyed a quarter interest to the same, April 20, 
1824 (235:277). Another 6 acre lot was conveyed by George Patch to Eph- 
raim Patch, Feb. 26, 1845 (620:38). His administrator sold the southern 
half of this lot to the widow, Lucy Patch, March 20, 1861 (620:39) and the 
rest to Henry Wilson. Mr. Wilson sold to Albert S. Brown, July 1, 1864 
(678:226) and Mrs. Patch sold her interest to him, Dec. 21, 1868 (762:128). 
Mr. Brown sold the whole lot to D. F. Appleton, Feb. 21, 1889 (1248:504) 
and Mr. Appleton conveyed to his son Francis, Aug. 7, 1894 (1420:153). 
The old Jacob Brown cellar is still visible on this lot. 

The Samuel Appleton Farm. 

Samuel, eldest son of Major Samuel, attained the rank of Colonel in 
active service in Nova Scotia and elsewhere and was a conspicuous citizen. 
His will was proved, Nov. 25, 1725 (Pro. Rec. 315: 307) and it made his son 
Samuel, the fourth of the name in successive generations, a merchant of 
Boston, his heir. He died in London of smallpox, Dec. 21, 1728. Jasper 
Waters, and Jasper Waters, Jun., drapers of London, brought suit against 


his estate and gained possession, April 2, 1731 (97:86). Their attorney 
sold the farm to Isaac Smith and >£athan Chapman, July 25, 1751 (97:88). 
Mr. Smith had bought the saw mill near by, Feb. 24, 1745 (88:156). 
They sold 28$ acres abutting on the Daniel Dane farm to Isaac Appleton 
and Philip Brown, March 10, 1752 (99:157) and on March 25, 1752 (104: 
215) Capt. Smith bought Chapman's interest. His son, Samuel, bought 
the interest of the other heirs, and acquired the title, Feb. 10, 1814 (203:8). 
The farm had preserved nearly its original dimension down to this time, but 
was now dismembered. On May 27, 1803, some years before he acquired his 
title to the farm, Samuel Smith sold 10 f acres of pasture land to Manasseh 
Dodge (210:67), and some years later, he sold 23| acres adjoining the above 
to Benjamin Dodge. Winthrop L. Dodge inherited and sold the two lots 
to Oliver Underhill, April 11, 1860 (679:81). William Wiilcomb and his 
wife Laura (Underhill) in her own right sold 5 acres of meadow and the 33 
acres of pasture to Daniel F. Appleton, Sept. 15, 18S1 (1068:167) who con- 
veyed to his son Francis R. Appleton, Dec. 25, 1891 (1334:94). Mr. Apple- 
ton built his mansion to which he has given the name, New House, on this 
pasture lot. 

On Feb. 23, 1814. Samuel Smith sold 15 acres of upland to David 
Dodge, the miller (212:268). The first mills on the upper river were built 
by John Adams, to whom Major Samuel Appleton had sold a house and 
20 acres. John Adams, Sen., conveyed his house, lands, the corn mill, 
etc. to his son John, April 7, 1698 (13:291). Isaac Smith and his wife, 
Eunice, sold to Paul Dodge, 

"all y l our Estate now in our possession together with y e Revertion & 
remainder, which Remainder that is now in y: Possession &. improve- 
ment of Our Father, Mr. Nath 1 Cross, being the Dower of his wife, 
Phebe, heretofore Phebe Adams & natural mother to said Eunice . . . 
commonly called Adamses Mills," 
including house, barn, grist and saw mills, about 42 acres, December 1, 
1750 (96:180). 

Barnabas Dodge, son of Paul, inherited the estate and bequeathed it 
to his son, David. David sold his whole possession, including the 15 acre 
lot, purchased of Samuel Smith and a one acre lot with a dwelling near by, 
to Ammi Smith, January 2, 1827 (242: 273). Horatio Smith and the other 
heirs sold the same to Caleb and Jerome Norwood of Rockport, April 21, 
1868 (746:148). The one acre lot, from which the house had disappeared, 
was sold by Caleb J. Norwood to Francis R. Appleton, Nov. 4, 18S6 (1185: 
225). It was then known as Kent's Corner, probably from the blacksmith, 
who had a shop here, years ago. It was in all probability a part of the 
20 acres, which John Adams bought of Major Appleton. 

Mr. Norwood sold the 15 acre lot, which Samuel Smith sold to David 
Dodge, to Bayard Tuckerman, Sept. 11, 1890 (1290: 48). Mr. Tuckerman 
built his dwelling on the sightly eminence, thus acquired, and gave the 
name Sunswyck to his new home. He had married Annie, daughter 
of Rev. John Cotton Smith, D.D., and granddaughter of Gen. James 
Appleton, and the ancient Appleton pasture now returned to its own 



r- - 

' ■y.'.-'---~;V" 







■ i 


, .■ 


■ &£ 

...- aSa-tAel 

&«£:&*& .i^^w^^^...^. 


Samuel Smith also sold a meadow lot of 6$ acres to David Wallace 
and a similar lot of 7 acres adjoining to John Adams, on_Feb. 22, 1814-(217: 
85, 86). John Adams sold to Silsbee Adams, May 22, 1860 (651 :118), who 
conveyed to D. F. Appleton, July 20, 1883 (1112: 29). Mary E. Wallace, 
widow of David, empowered Aretas D. Wallace, as executor, to sell her 
estate. He sold the meadow lot to D. F. Appleton, March 9, 1883 (1103: 
275). On Dec. 25, 1891, Mr. Appleton conveyed the Adams Meadow, 
"lying directly in front of New House," and the Wallace meadow adjoining 
to Francis R. Appleton (1334: 93 & 97). 

A lot of upland and meadow, 25f acres, was sold by Samuel Smith to 
Oliver Appleton, May 11, 1814 (215:52). The later history of the lot is 
included in that of the Oliver Appleton farm. 

The remainder of the Col. Samuel Appleton farm, with the old man- 
sion, which has been identified with Major Appleton's house, was sold by 
Samuel Smith to Samuel Obear of Wenham, Dec. 22, 1818 (226:65), by 
Ohear to Hamilton Brown, April 13, 1821 (226:65). His son, Albert S. 
Brown, sold 4 acres of meadow and upland on the easterly side of the rail- 
road to Francis R. Appleton, Feb. 21, 1889(1248: 503) and on the same date 
a parcel of meadow on the west side of the railroad to Daniel Fuller Apple- 
ton (1248:504), which he conveyed to Francis Randall, Dec. 25, 1891 (1334: 
95). The farm, sixty acres and buildings, was sold by Mr. Brown to Helen 
K., wife of Randolph M. Appleton, son of D. F. Appleton, Feb. 21, 1889 
(1248:505). The old house was removed from its original location under 
the great elms and made a part of the new mansion, which was built near 
by. The name of this estate, Waldingfield, is that of the English village, 
Little Waldingfield in Suffolk, from which Samuel Appleton migrated to 
the new land. 

The Oliver Appleton Farm. 

Oliver succeeded his father, Major Samuel, in the ownership of the 
saw mill, the ox pasture and other lands. He built a house for himself 
on the corner of Waldingfield Road and County Road, from which the 
Aaron Lord house was removed. He attained the venerable age of 83, 
which was common in his family line, and died, Jan. 9, 1759. His will, 
proved March 20, 1759 (Pro. Rec. 336:130) divided his estate. To his son 
Oliver, he gave the mill, and part of his land, the rest to Nathaniel. 

Nathaniel received the homestead, which was attained by purchase 
from the other heirs by his daughter Susanna, wife of Jeremiah Choate 
Underbill His son, Oliver Underbill, succeeded him, and his heirs sold to 
their sister, Catherine E., wife of Aaron Lord, Aug. 30, 1878 (1004:190) 
who sold to Ruth Appleton Tuckerman, daughter of D. F. Appleton, and 
wife of Charles S. Tuckerman, the house and land adjoining, Oct. 23, 1901 
(1656: 40), and the remainder of the land to Francis R. Appleton, Oct. 
23, 1891 (1324:512). 

Oliver Appleton, son of Oliver, built a house for his residence on the 
Bouth side of the present Waldingfield road. His son, Oliver, the third of 


the name, bought the holdings of the other heirs, May 5, 1803 (Pro. Rec 
370:107). He sold to his sons, Tristram and Nathaniel, Mar. 31, 1823 (232: 
71). They conveyed to Oliver Underhill, April 18,1832 (265:66.) who sold 
to Henry Wilson, June 13, 1835 (284: 41) including the mill privilege. Mr. 
Wilson bequeathed the estate to his grandson, Joseph R., son of his son 
Henry, who sold 20 acres at the R. R. crossing to Fanny Appleton, wife of 
Francis R.. Jan. 31, 1896 (1470:123), 9 acres to Randolph M. Appleton, 
April 4, 1900(1606:248) and the "Middle Gate Lot," 4} acres on County 
Road, to Mrs. Francis R. Appleton, on same date (1606: 249). His widow, 
Annie M., sold his estate to Francis R. Appleton, April 23, 1901 (1646:57), 
who transferred 11 acres on the north side of the road to his brother-in-law, 
€has. S. Tuckerman. Mr. Tuckerman removed both the Henry Wilson 
house and the Underhill house from their original foundations to a new site 
on the hill, and combined these in one large mansion. " Applefield" is the 
name of the estate, a happy union of Waldingfield and the apple orchard, 
which covers several acres. 

Thus, the ancient Appleton grant is now almost entirely in the pos- 
session of the direct descendants of the emigrant. The lots sold by 
Captain John and Major Samuel to Anthony Potter are still a part of 
that farm, now owned by the heirs of Harriet Smith, but these are the 
only parts in the hands of strangers. The Oliver Appleton farm is owned 
in part by Mrs. Charles S. Tuckerman, daughter of Daniel Fuller Appleton, 
and the remainder is in possession of Francis R. Appleton. The Samuel 
Appleton farm is owned in part by Randolph M. Appleton, in part by Bay- 
ard Tuckerman, and the balance by Francis R. Appleton. The latter also 
owns the Isaac and John Appleton farms and he has added to the ancestral 
acres, large tracts that were never in the Appleton possession. Mrs. Gerald 
L. Hoyt, daughter of Daniel Fuller Appleton occupies the cottage, which 
was built upon the old Appleton school-house as a base. Briar Hill is still 
the summer home of the heirs of Rev. John Cotton Smith and Harriet, the 
daughter of Gen. James Appleton. 




1. Samuel Appleton was born at Little Waldingfield, England in 
1586. He married at Preston, England, on Jan. 24, 1616, Judith Everard. 
Their children were: 

2 Mary, born at Little Waldingfield, 16^6. 

3 Judith, born at Little Waldingfield, 1618; died at Reydon, Eng., 

in 1629. 

4 MARTHA.born at Little Waldingfield, 1620; married Richard Jacobs 

of Ipswich; died Sept. 8, 1659. 

5 John, born at Little Waldinsfield, 1622. See No. 5. 

> 6 Samuel, born at Little Waldingfield, 1625. See No. 6. 

7 Sarah, born at Reydon, 1629; married Rev. Samuel Phillips of 

Rowley, Oct., 1651. 

He married Martha 

8 Judith, born at Reydon, 1634; married Samuel Rogers of Ips- 

wich, Dec. 24, 1657; died July, 1659. 

He took the freeman's oath on May 25, 1636, and was resident in 
Ipswich as early as July, 1636. The widow Sarah Dillingham of Ipswich 
bequeathed to Mr. Samuel Appleton five pounds, and to his wife a silver 
porringer, and committed the education and government of her child, and 
the care of her estate to Mr. Saltonstall and Mr. Appleton, in her will, dated 
July 10th of that year. The title Mr. indicated social position above the 
ordinary. Winthrop's Diary mentions that out of sixty- two persons ad- 
mitted to be freemen, on the above date. Mr. Appleton and three others 
were the only ones who were entitled to this honorary prefix. 

He was chosen Deputy to the General Court in May, 1637, and re- 
ceived several grants of land, which are noted in "Ipswich in the Massa- 
chusetts Bay Colony, 1633-1700," besides his great farm. 

* In the preparation of this Genealogy much help has been derived 
from the Genealogy published by William Sumner Anpleton in 1874. 
But a fresh examination has been made of the Vital Statistics of Ipswich 
end many corrections and additions have been made, bringing the 
statistics down to the present date. 




5. Captain John Appleton, 2 born at Little Waldingfield, England 
in 1622, had a long and distinguished public career, which is described 
in "Ipswich in the Massachusetts Bay Colony." He married Priscilla, 
daughter of Rev. Jesse Glover, and lived on the north side of the Topsfield 
road, near the residence of Mrs. Lavinia Brown. He died Nov. 4, 1699. 
His wife had died a little before, Feb. 18, 1698. 

. 9 John, born Oct. 16, 1652. See No. 9. 

10 Elizabeth, born 1654; married Richard Dummer of Newbury, 
Nov. 2, 1673. 
• 11 Samuel. See No. 11. 

12 Priscilla, born Dec. 25 , 1657; married Rev. Joseph Capen of 

Topsfield in 1684; died Oct. 18, 1743. 

13 Jesse, born March 27, 1660; died April 11, 1660. 

14 Jesse, born 1662; died at Boston, Nov. 18, 1721. 

15 Sarah, born Aug. 19, 1671; married Daniel Rogers of Ipswich. 

He died Dec. 1, 1722. 

16 Mary, born April 15, 1673; married Nathaniel Thomas of Marsh- 

field, June 20, 1694; died Oct. 7, 1727. 

6. Major Samuel Appleton, 2 * was born at Little Waldingfield, 
England, 1625. He married Hannah, daughter of William Paine of Ips- 
wich, April 2, 1651. 

17 Hannah, born Jan. 9, 1652; married William Downes of Boston. 

18 Judith, born Aug. 19, 1653;, married Samuel Woicott of Wethers- 

field, March 6, 1678. 

19 Samuel, born Nov. 3, 1654. See No. 19. 

Married 2d, Mary, daughter of John Oliver of Newbury, Dec. 8, 1656. 
She died, Feb. 15, 1698. 

20 John, born 1660. See No. 20. 
?2\ Isaac, born 1664. See No. 21. 

22 Joanna, born ; married Matthew Whipple. 

23 Joseph, born June 5, 1674; died in 1689. 

24 Oliver, born June 1676; died June 30, 1676. 

25 Mary, born June 1676; died June 9, 1676. 

26 Oliver, born 1677. See No. 26. 

27 Mary, born about Oct. 20, 1679; died 1689. 

Maj. Samuel Apple ton died May 15, 1696, and was buried in the old 
Burying Ground, where a simple stone marks his grave. 


9. Col. John Appleton, 3 son of Captain John, 2 was born Oct. 16, 
1652. He was the Town Clerk of that historic Town meeting, on August 
23, 1687, when the vote to refuse assent to the Andros edict was passed, 

* His public life is described at length in " Ipswich in the Massachu- 
setts Bay Colony." 

• ' 


and he was included in the famous company which was arrested and fine'd.* 
He was a Lieut. -Colonel, a Deputy, a Councillor, and Judge of Probate 
for thirty-seven years. He was also Chief Justice of the Court of Common 
Pleas. He bought the bouselot Feb. 25, 1707, on which he built his dwell- 
ing, which was bequeathed to his son, and is now in a remodelled form, 
owned by Mr. Moritz B.Philipp on the corner of Central and Market Streets. 
He married Elizabeth, daughter of John Rogers, President of Harvard 
College, Nov. 23, 1681. He died Sept. 11, 1739, his widow, March 13, 

28 Elizabeth, born April 23, 1682; married Rev. Jabez Fitch of 

Portsmouth, July 26, 1704; died Oct. 18, 1765. 

29 John, born Nov. 23, 1683; died at Cambridge, Sept. 23, 1699. 

30 William, born Oct. 15, 16S6; died July 10, 16S9. 

31 Daniel, bora Aug. 17, 1688; died Oct. 7, 1689. 

32 Daniel, born Aug. 8, 1692. See No. 32. 

33 Nathaniel, born Dec. 9, 1693. A. B. Harvard, 1712. Ordained 

at Cambridge in 1717, and continued his ministry sixty-six 
years. For more than sixty years, a Fellow of Harvard College, 
and received degree of D.D. in 1771. He died Feb. 9, 1784. 

34 Priscilla, born Jan. 3, 1697; married Rev. Robert Ward of 

Wenham, June 28, 1722; died July 22, 1724. 

35 Margaret, born Mar. 19, 1701 ; married Rev. Edward Holyoke, 

President of Harvard College, Nov. 9, 1725; died June 25, 1740. 

36 John, born Aug. 18, 1704; died Sept. 13, 1705. 

11. Samuel Appleton, 3 son of Captain John 2 , inherited from his 
father land on the TopsSeld Road and probably had his home there. He 
married Mary, daughter of Rev. John Woodbridge of Newbury. He died 
Aug. 16, 1693. His widow survived until June 9, 1712. 

37 Jesse, born Nov. 30, 1684; died 1707. 

38 Samuel, born July 21, 1686; died young. 

39 Thomas. 

40 John. See No. 40. 

19. Col. Samuel Appleton, 3 son of Major Samuel, 2 was born Nov. 
3, 1654. He was a resident of Lynn from 1680 to 1688, and owned the 
iron-works near the ledge, known as Appleton's Pulpit. The authenticity 
of the legend, which has been perpetuated in a bronze tablet, is considered 
in "Ipswich in the Massachusetts Bay Colony," page 272. A warrant was 
issued for his arrest for opposition to the Andros government, but he was 
never brought to trial. 

He went as a Commissioner to Quebec in 1706 to bring home the pris- 
oners, who were detained there, and returned to Boston, November 21st, 
with the Rev. John Williams of Deerfield and fif ty-six other redeemed cap- 
tives. He commanded a regiment in the expedition to Port Royal in 1707. 

He bought the Shoreborne Wilson house, now owned and occupied 
by Mr. Samuel N. Baker on Dec. 17, 1702, and it was his home for the 
remainder of his life. 

^ * See Chapter xiv, "Ipswich and the Andros Government" in "Ips- 
wich in the Massachusetts Bay Colony." 


He married Elizabeth, daughter of William Whittingham of Boston, 
June 19, 16S2. "The Hon bl Col Samuel Appleton dyed October the 30 th 
1725." A stately monument marks his grave in the old Burying Ground. 
His widow survived him, and married Rev. Edward Payson of Rowley, 
published Sept. 10, 1726. 

41 Mary, born at Lynn, Mar. 30, 1683; died young. 

42 Hannah, born at Lynn, Nov. 1, 1684; married at Ipswich, let, 

William Clark of Boston, Oct. 11, 1705; married 2d, Josiah 
Wiliard of Boston, April 7, 1726; died July 28, 1766. 

43 Elizabeth, born at Lynn, July 10, 1687; died June 13, 1703. 

44 Martha, born at Ipswich; married Joseph Wise of Ipswich, pub- 

lished Feb. 5, 1709. 

45 Samuel, born at Ipswich. See No. 45. 

46 Whittingham, born at Ipswich, Dec. 29, 1706. 

47 Elizabeth, born at Ipswich, Aug. 31, 1712; married David Pay- 

son of Rowley, Mar. 5, 1728. 

20. John Appleton, 1 son of Major Samuel, 1 was born in 1660. He 
inherited a portion of the ancestral farm, as has been noted in the history 
of the farm. 

He married 1st, Rebecca, daughter of John Ruck of Salem, April 1, 

48 John, born May 28, 1695; died young. 

Married 2d, Elizabeth, daughter of John Baker, widow of Benjamin 
Dutch, published Aug. 31, 1700. 

49 Benjamin, bora Nov. 14, 1702. See No. 49. 

50 Sarah, baptized June 24, 1705; married Aaron Potter, published 

Sept. 16, 1721. 

He died May 17, 1724, bis widow, Mar. 24, 1750. 

21. Major Isaac Appleton, 3 son of Major Samuel, 2 was bom in 
1664. He made his home on the farm he had inherited. He married 
Priscilla, daughter of Thomas Baker of Topsfield, who died May 25, 1731. 
He survived until May 22, 1747. 

51 Priscilla, born Mar. 16, 1697: married 1st, Thomas Burnhain. 

published Dec. 13, 1718. He died April 4, 1730. Married 2d, 
Arthur Abbott, May 23, 1734. 

52 Isaac, born Mar. 21, 1699; died July 30, 1700. 

53 Mary, born Oct. 1, 1701; married William Osgood of Anddrer 

Jan. 6, 1730. 

54 Isaac, born May 30, 1704. See No. 54. 

55 Rebecca, born 1706; married William Dodge of Wfe has 

Jan. 9, 1729; died Nov. 1794. 

56 Elizabeth, born 1706; married Josiah Fairfield of WecLJbss 

Aug. 4, 1731. 

57 Martha, born July 30, 1708; married John White of Hsve±21 

Aug. 4, 1731. 

58 Joanna, baptized Nov. 17, 1717; married William Story of Ba- 

ton, May 14, 1747; died July 16, 1775. 

<> ^*»"* ~*-~- wmJIQllW l^^rf^" 





2, ^ 




". • &fe&&33 


>• ; 




' '' 






■ ' - 


.j^h^mjiM £££2*1 


26. Oliver Appleton, 3 son of Major Samuel, 2 was born in 1677. 
He inherited the saw mill, and a portion of the farm, from his father. He 
married Sarah, daughter of Tobijah Perkins of Topsfield, Dec. 17, 1701. 
He died Jan. 9, 1759, his widow, Dec. 30, 1769 

59 Oliver, born 1702. See No. 59. 

60 William, bom 1703; died April 8, 1725. 

61 Joseph, born Dec. 24, 1705. See No. 61 . 

62 John, born 1707. See No. 62. 

63 Sarah, born 1709; married 1st, Benjamin Swain of Reading, 

Dec. 7, 1727 ; married, 2d. Benjamin Wyman, Nov. 16, 1752. 

64 Hannah, born Alar. 22, 1711; marriod Dr. Thomas Swain of 

Reading, published Sept. 26, 1730. 

65 Samuel, baptized Mar. 22, 1713; lived in Haverhill, died Oct. 27, 


66 Thomas, born Dec. 19, 1714; died Sept. 12, 1724. 

67 Lucy, born Jan. 20, 1717; died Mar. 14, 1737 at Haverhill. 

68 Mary, born ; married Nathaniel Whipple; published Nov. 

10, 1744; died Mar. 2, 1810. 

69 Daniel, baptized Mar. 1, 1719; died April 8, 1807. 

70 Nathaniel, baptized April 23, 1721. See No. 70. 

71 Priscilla, baptized Nov. 1, 1724; died young. 


32. Daniel Appleton, 4 son of Colonel, John, 3 was born Aug. 8, 
1692. He was a Colonel, a Representative, a Justice of the Court of Ses- 
sions, and Register of Probate from Jan. 9, 1723 to August, 1762. His 
home was in the mansion built by his father, on the corner of Market and 
Central Streets. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Berry of 
Cambridge, June 8, 1715. He died Aug 17, 1762, his widow, Nov. 28, 

72 Elizabeth, born Julv 28, 1717: died Aug. 28, 1717. 

73 Elizabeth, born Sept. 20, 1718; died Oct., 1718. 

74 John, born Dec. 9, 1719; died Sept. 22, 1720. 

75 Margaret, baptized Sept. 30, 1722: died Oct. 19, 1722. 

76 Daniel, baptized Feb. 15, 1724; died Mar. 13, 1724. 

77 Margaret, born Nov. 28, 1725; died July 27, 1747. 

78 Elizabeth, born Aug. 21, 1727; married Rev. John Walley, Pas- 

tor of the South Church, Ipswich, Oct. 20, 1748; died Oct., 1798. 

79 John, born, Jan. 19, 1731; died April 23, 1731. 

80 Mary, born March 14, 1733; died Oct., 1801. 

81 John, born and baptized May 19, 173 1; died Aug. 28, 1740. 

82 Daniel, born July 26, 1736; died Aug. 16, 1736. 

40. John Appleton, 4 son of Samuel, 3 called John 3d in 1723, sheriff 
in 1745, married Mary, daughter of Rev. James Allin of Salisbury, Feb. 
28, 1717, who died Oct. 26, 1749. He died July 25, 1750. 

83 Mary, born Sept. 28, 1718; died young. 

84 Elizabeth, baptized Dec. 4, 1720; married Thomas Sewall of 

Kittery, published Mar. 1, 1744. 

85 Sarah, baptized Dec. 10, 1721; married George Eustis of Boston, 

published Mar. 1, 1744. 


86 Samuel, baptized Aug. 31, 1723; died Sept. 16, 1723. 

87 Mary, born Oct 9, 172*1 ; married Samuel Rindge, published Nov. 

23, 17: 9; died I ec. 26, 1746. 

88 Anne, baptized Mar. 6. 1726; died Aug. 8, 1747. 

89 John, baptized Aug. 20, 17-7; died 17^5. 

90 Lucr, baptized Nov. 24, 1728; die I June 10, 1745. 

91 Samuel, baptized Oct. 4, 1V30; died Nov. 8, 1780. 

92 Margaret, baptized Oct. 24, 1731. 

93 Martha, born ; died Oct. 21, 1746. 

94 Priscilla, born ; died Sept. 17, 1748, "being the last of 

seven daughters dying with a Consumption within the space of 
3 years." Town Record. 

45. Samuel Appleton, 4 son of Colonel Samuel, 3 inherited the farm 
and his father's residence (the Samuel N. Taker house). He removed to 
Boston, and engaged in laige mercantile ventures, which resulted disas- 
trously, as his estate was insolvent, after his sudden death in London of 
smallpox, on Dec. 15, 172S. He married Anna, daughter of John Gerrish 
of Boston, Mar. 19, 1719. She survived her husband and married Rev. 
Joshua Gee of Boston, April 17, 1734. 

95 Samuel, baptized at Ipswich, April 3, 1720; died April 5, 1720. 

96 Mary, baptized at Ipswich, 1 ec. 9, 1722; died Dec. 29, 1722. 

97 Samuel, born at i!oston, Aug. 15, 1726. 

98 Anne, born at Boston, 1728. 

49. Benjamin Appleton, 4 son of John, 3 w r as born Nov. 14, 1702. 
His home was on the farm he had inherited. He married Elizabeth Wade, 
published Feb. 23, 1723, and died in his thirtieth year, Feb. 13, 1732. His 
widow married William Cogswell, Mar. 13, 1735. 

99 Elizabeth, baptized July 12, 1724. 

100 Sarah, baptized July 31, 1726; died Aug. 12, 1726. 

101 John, born Mar. 10, 17-8; ied June 9, 1728. 

102 Mary, born March 30, 1729; married Jonathan Cogswell, Jr., 

Dec. 28, 1748. 

103 Sarah, baptized Nov. 22, 1730; married Peter Smith, Mar. 29, 


104 Benjamin, born June 2, 1732; died June 15, 1732. 

\£4. Isaac Appleton, 4 son of Major Isaac, 3 was born May 30, 1704. 
He spent his life in the home he had inherited on the farm. He married 
Elizabeth, daughter of Francis Sawyer of Wells, published April 25, 1730. 

105 Isaac, baptized May 30, 1731 ; married Mary, daughter of Joseph 

Adams of Concord, and removed to New Ipswich, N. H., where 
he died Feb. 25, 18(6. 

106 Francis, baptized Mar. ' 5, 17.°3. See No. 106. 

107 Ei izabeth, baptized Oct. 24, 1736; married Samuel Bartlett of 

Newton, published Se t 5,1700. 

108 Samuel, born 1739. See o. 108. 

109 Thomas, baptized Oct. 5. 174!). See No. 109. 

110 John, ba|,ti;:ed Dec. 26, 1742; married Mercy Bradbury at Bux- 

ton, Me., Sept. 12, 1771, who died June 26, 1826. He died at 
Buxton, June 20, 1820. 







r» M 

o * 

50 M 

2 r 

<— i 




-,- v 


jfejaaaiiU^fetJ^^iateaat^ ■*a«^..^;,.^ l U,SU..<ifl;,; 



111 Daniel, baptized April 7, 1745; married Eliz. Adams, published 

June 29, 1776; iemoved to Buxton, and died tiiere March 14, 

112 William, baptized April 12, 1747; married Sarah, daughter of 

Jotham Odiorne of Portsmouth, where he lived, and died May, 

113 Mary, baptized July 2, 1749; rr arried A?ager Woodbury, Nov. 25, 

1784; died March 10, 1828. 

114 Joseph, baptized June 9, 1751, A. B. Brown University, 1772. 

Pastor at. North Brookfield, where lie died July 25, 1795. He 
married Mary, daughter of Joseph Hook of Kingston, N. H. 

His wife died April 29, 1785. "Mr. Isaac Appleton, age 82 years and 
Mrs. Heplmbah Appleton, aged 70 years, published intention of marriage 
Nov. 5, 1785," Town Record. They were married Dec. 11, 1785, and the 
bride died July 7, 1788. Mr. Appleton died on Dec. 18, 1794, aged 91, in 
the house in which he was born. His second wife was probably the widow 
of Dea. Joseph Appleton, who died Nov. 20, 1782. 

59. Oliver Appleton, 4 son of Oliver,' was born in 1702. He in- 
herited from his father the saw-mill and a portion of his farm in 1759. 
He built the house on the south side or. Waldingfield Road, which was owned 
later by Mr. Henry Wilson, and was incorporated by Mr. Chas. S. Tucker- 
man in his residence. 

He married Bethiah Whipple, on Jan. 9, 1729, and two children were 

115 William, horn Jan. 23, 1731; died Aug. 1, 1736. 

116 Hannah, baptized between the 1st and 4th of July, 1736; died 

Oct. 19, 1736. 

Bethiah died on July 10, 1736, and he married Sarah Whipple,* Dec. 
5, 1739. 

117 Oliver, baptized Sept. 5, 1740; died young. 

118 Sarah, baptized Oct. 19, 1741; married George Norton, published 

Oct. 20, 1704. 

119 Hannah, baptized Sept. 11, 1743 ; died July 25, 1764. 

120 Bethiah, i aptized Oct. 27. 1745; married Joshua Giddings of 

Hamilton, April 26, 177(>;died Jan. 16, 1831. 

121 Lucy, i aptized Jan. 31, 1747; died June 12, 1778, of smallpox. 

122 Mehitaiue, baptized Jan. 21, 1753; diod Aug. 11, 1818. 

123 Katfakine, bartized i\ 5 av 18, 1755; married Wiiliam Whipple of 

Hamilton, May 19, 1776; died Jan. 15, 1829. 

124 Mary Oliver, born July 25, 1757. 

125 Olier, ba< tized June 15, 1760. See No. 125. 

126 Rebecca, baptized Mar. 13, 1763; married Jacob Perkins of Maiden, 

Aug. 1, 1789. 

Oliver Appleton died Aug. 5, 1787, his widow June 22, 1811. 

* In the Town Record, Oliver Appleton was published with Sarah 
Whipple, Oct. 13. 1739. in the record of marriage, the bride's name is 
Sarah Frail, but the r l own Clerk evidently was in error. The entry pre- 
ceding is Jacob Fellows and Sarah Frail. He unconsciously repeated the 
name, in recording the next marriage. 


61. Dea. Joseph Appleton, 4 son of Oliver, 3 was born Dec. 24, 1705. 
He bought the houselot, bounded by County Road and the South Common, 
later known as the John Wade lot, now owned by Mrs. Daniel Fuller Apple- 
ton, Jan. 4, 1730. He married Hephzibah Swain of Reading, Nov. 16, 
1732, and built a dwelling on the above lot. 

He was a member of the Committee which had charge of building 
Choate Bridge in 176 1, and received ^0£ for measuring rocks, keeping and 
settling accounts, paying and receiving money, etc. He was a Deacon of 
the South Church, and was a member of the Joint Committee of the First 
and South Parishes, which bought the first lot for the Burying ground on 
the South side, Aug. 20, 1773. He died Nov. 20, 1782. 

127 Hephzibah, baptized May 19, 1734; died Julv 22, 1736. 

128 Elizabeth, baptized July, 1736; died July 30, 1736. 

129 Joseph, baptized June 29, 1740. See No. 129. 

130 Hephzibah, born Nov. 17, 1741 ; married Nathaniel Day, Mar. 8, 


131 Aaron, baptised Sept, 25, 1743; died May 3, 1744. 

132 Aaron, baptized April 28, 1745; died Sept. 27, 1715. 

133 Thomas, baptized Jan. 18, 1747. See No. 133. 

134 Ebenezkh, baptized, Feb. 18, 1749; died young. 

62. John Appleton, 4 son of Oliver, 3 was born in 1707. He bought 
a houselot of Isaac Fitts, on South Market street, March 24, 1734, and ten 
years later bought the adjoining lot, on which the Bank Building and other 
buildings now stand. Here he made his home. He married Lucy Board- 
man, Aug. 4, 1731, who died Feb. 24, 1790. He died Jan. 4, 1794. 

135 Lucy, baptized Mar. 19,1732; married Abraham How ; published 

Dec. 14, 1752. 

136 Benjamin, baptized Oct. 20, 1734; removed to Gloucester. 

137 William, baptized Jan. 8, 1738. See No. 137. 

138 Margaret, baptized Jan. 30, 1743; married Paniel Thurston. 

139 Mary, baptized Feb. 24, 1745; married Daniel Rogers. 

140 Elizabeth, baotized April 17, 1718; married Aaron Treadwell, 

published April 18, 1707. 

141 John, bar tized Oct. 21, 1750; died April 12, 1798, occasioned by 

a fall. * 

70. Lieut. Nathaniel Appleton,* son of Oliver, 3 was baptized, 
April 23, 1721. He inherited from his father the farm now included in 
Applefield, owned by Mrs. Charles S. Tuckerman. His house was on the 
Bite of the more recent Aaron Lord house, on the corner of Waldingfkld 
road. He married Susannah Brown of Reading, published April 27, 1745. 

He died Feb. 16, 1793, his widow, Nov. 2, 1807, aged 82 years. 

142 Nathaniel, baptized Mav 1 1 , 1746; died Aug., 1747. 

143 Nathaniel, ba : tized Mar. 6, 1747. 

144 Benjamin, baptized April 22, 1750. See No. 144. 

145 Susannah, baptized Oct. 21, 1752; die 1 Julv, 1761. 

146 Sarah, baptized Mar. 16, 1755; died Julv, 1764. 

147 Oliver, baptized Nov. 27, 1757. See No. 147. 

148 Eunice, bantizei May 4, 1760; married Ephraim Fellows, Nov. 

24, 1778/ 


■;.-: TO 


V,y I. ,-^^ri 

V *# 







149 Sakah, baptized Feb. 3 0, 1765; married John Winn of Salem, 

Nov. 2, 1793. 

150 Susanna, baptized Aug. 16, 1767; married Jeremiah Choate Un- 

derbill, Oct. 21, 1798. 

151 Lucy, born Dec. 31. 1771; died Feb. 10, 1792. 


106. Francis Appleton, 5 son of Isaac, 4 was born in 1739. He 
married Elizabeth Hubbard, May 5, 1758, and lived in Ipswich for some 
years after his marriage. He then removed to New Ipswich, N. H.. where 
his last child was born. His wife died Nov. 7, IS 15. He survived until 
Jan. 29, 1816. 

152 Francis, born at Ipswich, May 28, 1759, of Dublin, N. H. 

153 Isaac, born at Ipswich, baptized Jan. 25, 1761. 

154 John, baptized at Ipswich, April 3, 1763; of New Ipswich. 

155 Mary, baptized at Ipswich, Dec. 29, 1765. 

156 Elizabeth, born at Ipswich, 1767. 

157 Je se, born at New Ipswich, Nov. 17, 1772. He entered Dart- 

mouth College in 1788, was ordained at Hampton, Feb., 1797, 
and was elected President of Eowdoin College, in 1807. He 
died at Brunswick, Nov. 12, 1819. 

108. Samuel Appleton, 6 son of Isaac, 4 was born in 1739. He in- 
herited his father's farm and built the house, now the summer residence 
of Mrs. D. F. Appleton, in 1794. He married Mary, daughter of Rev. 
Timothy White of Haverhill, published Nov. 26, 1768. 

He died May 15, 1819, his widow, Nov. 10, 1S34. 

158 Elizabeth, born Dec. 6, 1769: died Jan. 7, 1790. 

159 Samuel Gilman, born Feb. 26, 1771; married Mary Andrews, 

Jan. 5, 1836. He died Julv 2, 1852. His widow married Jacob 
Dodge of Wenham, Oct. 18, 1853. 

160 Mary, born Dec. 3, 1772 ; married Amos Sawyer of Salem, June 7, 


161 Susanna, born Dec. 21, 1774; married John Willet of Bridgton, 

Me., Jan. 23, 1803. 

162 Isaac, born Dec. 15, 1776; removed to Beverly, married Sarah 


163 Timothy, born Nov. 13, 1778; died March 22, 1857. - 

164 John White, born Nov. 29, 1780; married 1st, Sarah P., daughter 

of Rev. Elisha Williams of Beverlv, Sept. 14, 1806, 2d, her sister 
Sophia, Jan. 29, 1810. He died at Baltimore, Mar. 27, 1862. 

165 Rebecca, born Mar. 19, 1783 ; married Joseph Brown, Jr., Jan. 15, 


166 James, born Feb. 14, 1785. See No. 166. 

167 Gardiner, born Mar. 2, 1787; married Nancy Woodbury. > 

168 Joanna, born July 19, 1 789 : married 1st, Capt. Samuel SafTord, 

Nov. 21, 181 L. Married 2d, Eben Dodge of Salem. 

169 Nathan Danp, born May 20, 1794. A. B. Dartmouth, 1813; mar- 

ried Julia, daughter of Abiel Hall cf Alfred, Maine, where he 
made his lesidence and died Nov. 12, 1861. 

109. Thomas Appleton, 5 son of I^aac, 4 was born Oct. 5, 1740. He 
married Susanna Perkins, July 13, 1767. 


170 Isaac, born Aug. 24, 1768; died at sea 1790. . 

171 Elizabeth, born July 7, 1770; 'married James Woodbury of 


Susanna died May 22, 1773, aged 32 years. 

He married Lydia, daughter of Daniel Dane, Oct. 19, 1773, who died 
at Beverly, Aug. 23, 1845, aged 103 years, 8 months, 5 days. He died 
Sept. 15, 1830. 

172 Daniel, born in Hamilton, Nov. 5, 1774; baptized in Ipswich, 

April 9, 1775. See No. 172. 

173 Lydia, "bom in Beverly, Aug. 22, 1776: baptized in Ipswich, Oct. 

12, 1777; married Jonathan Lamson of Hamilton, April 30, 1809. 

174 Sarah, baptized ia Ipswich, April 23, 1782. 

125. Oliver Appleton, 5 son of Oliver, 4 was baptized June 15, 1760. 
He bought the interest of the other heirs in the homestead in 1803, and 
sold to his sons, Tristram and Nathaniel, March 31, 1823. He married 
Martha, daughter of John Patch, March 12, 1789. He died in Hamilton, 
Dec. 18, 1852, his widow, Aug. 31, 1861. 

175 Martha, born Oct. 3, 1789; married Charles Baker, Aug. 19, 1813. 

176 Oliver, born Mar. 15, 1791; married Anstice, da :ghter of Eben- 

ezer Cogswell, July 2, 1816, and removed to Hamilton. An 
infant, 7 mos. old, died Feb. 21, 1823. He died in Hamilton. 

177 Lucy, born Xov. 26, 1792; died April 29, 18*8. 

178 Hannah, bom Sept. 27, 1794; married 1st, William M. Smith of 

Ipswich, Oct. 2, 1814, who died at sea, 1816; married 2d, 
Temple Cutler of Hamilton, April 5, 18^3; died January 16, 

179 George, born Julv 29, 1790, lived in Hamilton. 

180 Tristram, born June 23, 1798, lived in Hamilton. 

181 Nathaniel, born April 3, 1S00, lived in Hamilton. 

182 Abigail, born Mav 2, 1802; died Nov. 9, 1818. 

183 Sarah, born April 21, 1804; married Tristram Brown, Jr., May 

13, 1830; died April, 1891. 

184 Joshua, born March 21, 1806; died Dec. 9, 1806. 

185 Mehitable, born July 16, 1808; married John Foster of Hamilton. 

129. Joseph Appleton, Jr., 5 son of Deacon Joseph, 4 was baptized 
June 29, 1740. He married Hannah Bacheller of Haverhill, June 17, 

186 Joseph, born , 1766; died Jan. 26. 1786. 

187 Hannah, baptized Oct, 8, 1769; married Daniel Wallis, Oct. 13, 


188 Hephzibah, baptized Oct. 8, 1769. 

189 Lois, born Feb. 8, 1774; married John Williamson, Oct. 25, 1793. 

Hemarriel again, Eunice Perkins, Jan. 19, 1776. 

190 Eunice, baptized June 1. 1777. 

191 Salome, baptized June 1, 1777; married David Tucker, Jr., Oct. 

6, 1812. 

192 Aaron, born May 10, 1779: married Lucy Sweet, Oct. 7, 1800; 

died in the West Indies, Sept., 1802. 

He died Dec 10, 1812, his widow, May 1, 1821. 



' ^ 


i ' 1 

n i 


. ; :i \&£B;I pk 



' •''■'' ' 


>P " ' ''". ,. •" }^ "' 




^' " ...^J 

ii.-, ?■ : -S 

"" ; ' .. t V", "'"V" 






| ..-,.-■ .. - :J ;. 


- > ■ : ' . . 

■ ' ' 






i : 

',.:■, ..,■ '.„-,: &j& 


133. Thomas Appleton, 5 son of Deacon Joseph/ was baptised 
Jan. 18, 1747. He became the owner of the house, known later as the 
Merrifield house, on the County Road, on the South side, recently torn 
down. He sold the northeast half to John Wade, April 19, 1794, but re- 
tained the other half, and in his will, devised the lower floor to his daugh- 
ter, Mehitable, the wife of Thomas Merrifield, and the upper to Abigail, 
the widow of his son, Daniel, and her daughter, Abigail G. Appleton, 
March 12, 1842. 

He married Mehitable, daughter of John Crocker, published Nov. 
26, 1768. She died May 20, 1804, aged 54. He died May 21, 1810, 
aged 64. 

193 Thomas, born Oct., 1772, removed to Marblehead ; at the age of 

75 vears, he marred for his third wife, Mehitable Lancaster of 
Ipswich, aged 60, May 6, 18">1. 

194 Mehitable, bo^n Mar. 21, 1775; married Thomas Merrifield, Nov. 

25, 1798; died Oct. 24, 1859. 

195 Daniel, born June 8, 1786. See No. 195. 

196 An Infant, died July 1, 1791. 

137. William Appleton, 5 son of John 3d 4 , was baptized Jan. 8, 
1738. He married Sarah Kinsman, published April 21, 1764, and bought 
a house lot of Sarah Rust on which he built his dwelling, Mar. 25, 1766. 
In the division of his estate, in 1808, the dwelling was assigned to his 
daughter Sarah Choate, and is still known as the Sally Choate house. 

He died August 9, 1807, his widow, June 10, 1809. 

197 William, baptized June 30, 1765, removed to Salem, where he 

manied 1st, Anna Bowditch, Dec. 22, 1793. Married 2d, 
Tamesin Abbott of Andover, July 23, 1807. He died at Salem, 
Sept., 1822. 

198 Sarah, baptized Jan. 4, 1767; married David Choate of Glouces- 

ter, July 18, 1789. 

199 Lucy, baptized Nov. 13, 1768; married John Baker, Jr., June 1, 


200 Hannah, born Aug. 16, 1770; married Moses Wallis, Mav 25, 1800. 

201 Mary, baptized July 5, 1772; married hbenezer Bowditch of 

Salem, 1797. 

202 Elizabeth, baptized, Aug. 21, 1774. . 


166. Gen. James Appleton, 8 son of Samuel, 5 was born Feb. 14, 
1785. A brief sketch of his life has been given in the history of the farm. 
He married Sarah, daughter of Rev. Daniel Fuller of Gloucester, Nov. 15, 

Gen. James died at Ipswich, Aug. 25, 1862. His widow, Jan. 7, 1872. 

203 Samuel Gilman, born at Gloucester, Nov. 5, 1808; married 
Sarah, daughter of Sylvester Gardner of Manlius, N. Y., Sept. 
30, 1839; an Episcopal clergyman; died at Morrisania, Nov. 29, 


204 Sarah Fuller, born at Gloucester, Jan. 20, 1811; married at 

Marblehead, Rev. Stephen C. Millett of Salem, May 6, 1833; 
died June 7, 1884. 

205 James, born at Gloucester, Mar. 11, 1813; married Sarah Bristol, 

daughter of Samuel L. Edwards of Manlius, N. Y., June 21, 
1842; died March, 1884. 

206 Mary White, born at Gloucester, Nov. 15, 1815; died Jan. 14, 


207 Elizabeth Putnam, born at Gloucester, Dec. 3, 1818; married 

Shelton L. Hall of Racine, Wis., Sept. 2, 1845; died Mar. 29, 
1897 at Racine. 

208 Joanna Podge, born at Marblehead, Feb. 23, 1821; inanied Pey- 

ton R. Morgan, Nov. 9, 1843; died at Racine, April 25, 1870. 

209 Hannah Fuller, born at Marblehead, April 21, 1823; married 

Robert H. Thayer, April 27, 1854; died at Orange, N. J., Nov. 
10, 1903. 

210 Daniel Fuller, born at Marblehead, Jan. 31, 1826. See No. 


211 Haruiette Hooter, born at Marblehead, Mar. 24, 1828: married 

Rev. John Cotton Smith, D. D., Fee. 9, 1849, then Rector of 
St. John's Church, Bangor. Fie was Rector of the Church of 
the Ascension, New Yoik, from 1859 until his death, Jan. 9, 
1882. His wife died Aug 26, 1905. 

212 Anna Whittemore, bom at Marblehead, Jan. 31, 1831; married 

Dr. (has. H. Osgood. June 21, 1852. 

172. Daniel Appleton, 6 son of Thomas 5 , was born in Hamilton, 
Nov. 5, 1774. He married, Martha W r oodbury of Beverly, Nov. 26, 1801, 
and made his home in that town. 

213 Daniel, born in Beverly, July 4, 1802. A large family'of chil- 

dren was born, by this marriage, and a second, with Mary 
Baker Allen, daughter of William Allen of Manchester. Daniel 
returned to Ipswich and is the only one, who comes within the 
scope of this sketch. See No. 213. 

195. Daniel Appleton, 6 son of Thomas, 5 was born June 8, 1786. 
He married Abigail, daughter of Richard Lakeman, Nov. 15, 1812. He 
died in Dartmoor prison, Jan. 4, 1815. His widow occupied a tenement 
on the second floor of the old Merrifieid house, which was bequeathed her 
by Thomas Appleton, father of her husband. She died April 15, 1857, at 
the age of 64 years 6 months. 

214 Abigail G., born 1814; died June 9, 1886. 


210. Daniel Fuller Appleton, 7 son of Gen. James, 6 was born in 
Marblehead, Jan. 31, 1826. He learned the trade of watch maker and 
jeweller in Portland, with his brother James, but went to New York, in 
1846. He entered the employment of Koyal Rob-ins, and later became 
his partner, under the firm name of Rob! ins and Appleton. In 1857, the 
firm became owners of the new and small watch factory at Waltham, which 
has grown to be the great manufactory of the American Waltham Watch 

m em rnm 

iZRr&??V?T** " T -* 

,-, —^5^^ 




L... -'J 








. H^^;to^_>.^^ii^,^L.«^..u^..-.^ J ^ifl^ , 'tfrf*iife 


Co. Mr. Appleton retained his interest in the business until his death, and 
his sons have succeeded him. 

He was a member of the first National Convention of the Republican 
party, which nominated John C. Fremont for Piesident, and was invited 
to eit on the platform at tbe Convention, which nominated Mr. McKinley 
for the first time. 

While his business interests wt re in New York, his summer home was 
at the farm, to which he was gteatly attached. 

He married 1st, Julia, daughter of Nicholas P. Randall of Manlius, 
N. Y., June 9, 1853, who died Aug. 20, 1886, at the age of 59 years, 4 
months, 11 days. 

215 Francis Randall, born Aug. 5, 1854. See No. 215. 

216 Ruth, born May 30, 1857; married Charles Sanders Tuckerman, 

A. B. Harvard, 1874, on April 15, 1880, who died Aug. 27, 

1 Muriel, born in Rrookline, March 6, 1881. 

2 John Appleton, horn in Boston, Nov. 26, 1884. A. B. Har- 
vard, 1905. 

3 Julia Appleton, born in Ipswich, May 17, 1888. 

4 Leverett ^altonstall, born in Salem", Dec. 3, 1892. Their 
summer home, Applefield, is within the bounds of the 
original Appleton Farm. For the remainder of the year, 
their home is in Boston. 

217 Mary Eliza, born April 21, 1860; married Gerald Livingstone 

Hoyt.of Staatsburgh, N. Y., A. B. Yale, 1872, on Nov. 22, 1881. 

1 Julia Marion, bom in New York, Mar. 3, 1S83. 

2 Lydig, born in New York, Dec. 21, 1883. A. B. Yale, 1906. 
Their summer home, /'The Cottage," is on the Farm. 
Their winter residence is in New York. 

*218 Randolph Morgan, born Jan. 4, 1862. See No. 218. 

219 James Waldingkield, born June 4, 1£67. A. B. Harvard, 1888. 

Mr. Appleton married 2d, Susan A., daughter of Prof. John P. Cowles, 
of Ipswich, Dec. 17, 1SS9. He died Feb. 5, 1904. 

213. Daniel Appleton, 7 son of Daniel, 9 was born July 4, 1802, in 
Beverly. He bought a portion of the Joseph Fellows farm, with half the 
house, Jan. 16, 1832, and married Mehitable K. Cleaves of Beverly, April 
10, 1832. They set i.p their home on the (arm, where he died Oct. 20, 
1859. His widow lived until Nov. 22, 1888, dying at the age of 83 years, 
11 months. 

220 Daniel Woodbury, born May 21. 1833. See No. 220. 

221 Marietta Dane, born April 4, 1836; died Sept. 18, 1869. 

222 John William P^liot, born May 22, 1850; died April 2, 1855. 


215. Francis Randall Appleton, 8 son of Daniel Fuller, 7 was born 
in New York, Aug. 5, 1854. He was graduated from Harvard College, 
1875, and took the degree of L. L. B. at Columbia, 1877. His summer 


home, New House, was built on a lot, originally included in the Appleton 
Farm. His business interests are in New York, where he- resides during 
the winter months. 

He married Fanny Lanier, daughter of Charles Lanier, Esq. at Lenox, 
Mass., Oct. 7, 1884. 

223 Francis Randall, Jr., born in Lenox, July 9, 1885. A. B. Har- 

vard, 1907. 

224 Charles Lanier, born in New York, Sept. 25, 1886. 

225 Ruth, born in New York, Jan. 10, 1891. 

226 Alice, born in New York, Dec. 8, 189L 

227 James, born in New York, Mar. 6, 1899. 

218. Randolph Morgan Appleton, 8 son of Daniel Fuller, 7 was born 
at New York, Jan. 4, 1862, and was graduated from Harvard College, 18S4. 

He married Helen Kortright.of Boston, June 2, 1888. His estate bears 
the ancestral name, Waldingfield. 

228 Madeline, born in Ipswich, July 8, 1891. 

229 Julia, born in Ipswich, June 5, 1894. 

230 Sybil, born in Boston, Dec. 28, 1899. 

220. Daniel Woodbury Appleton, 8 son of Daniel, 7 was born May 
21, 1833. He married Lucy Abby, daughter of Jarvis Lamson of Hamil- 
ton, April 28, 1870, who died Dec. 6, 1883, aged 34 years, 5 months. He 
died Oct. 27, 19J3, in the house, in which he was born. 

231 Daniel Howard, born Nov. 30, 1874. See No. 231. 

232 Marietta Dane, born Nov. 13, 1876; married Amos E. L. Scotton, 

Aug. 24, 1896. 

1 Gladys Appleton, born Nov. 29, 1896. 

2 Edward Lawrence, born July 13, 1899. 

3 Lucie Abbie, born Jan. 10, 1901. 

4 Harold Everett, born July 29, 1902. 

233 Eliot Lamson, born April 9, 1881. 


231. Daniel Howard Appleton, 9 son of Daniel W,, 8 was born Nov. 
30, 1874; married Cora M. Manthorn, Aug. 3, 1895; died June 14, 1899. 
234 Daniel Howard, Jr., born, 1895. 


The Animal meeting of the Ipswich Historical Society 
was held on Monday, December 3, 1906, at Whipple House. 
The following officers were elected. 

President.— T. Frank Waters. 
Vice Presidents. — John B. Brown, 

Francis R. Appleton. 
Directors. — Charles A. Sayward, 

John H. Cogswell, 

John W. Nourse. 
Clerk. — John W. Goodhue. 

Corresponding Secretary and Treasurer. — T. Frank Waters. 
Librarian. — John J. Sullivan. 

Social Committee. 
Mrs. Edward Damon, Miss Lucy Slade Lord, 

Mrs. Howard B. Dawson, Miss C. Bertha Dobson, 
Mrs. Francis H. Richardson. Mrs. Frank H. Stockwell, 
Mrs. Henry R. Kenyon, Mrs. Joseph F. Ross, 

Miss Sarah E. Lakeman, Mrs. Frank W. Kyes. 

The Committee was authorized to fill any vacancies that 
may occur in its membership, and enlarge it, if occasion 



We may congratulate ourselves on the abundant and increas- 
ing prosperity of our Society. In some respects, the record of 
the year, which has now ended, has been phenomenal. 

Our House, always our most valuable and most interesting 
asset, is coming into wider and wider renown. The Report of 
our Curator, to be sure, indicates only the average number of 
visitors, whose names have been recorded, a round thousand, 
including the 89 names of our townspeople. But it is acquiring 
distinction as a notable old mansion and winning its way into 
the hearts of our townsfolk. When friends are being entertained 
they are invariably brought here, and when the annual supper is 
spread and the old rooms are lighted and warmed in the olden 
style, and the long tables are heavy with the ancient good cheer, 
a multitude comes to enjoy the grand occasion. 

But friends from afar have come pressing in this year as never 
before. The Bay State League, a federation of the historical 
societies of eastern Massachusetts, met here on June 2nd. Their 
headquarters were established in our House, and their lunch was 
eaten in our garden, their boxes being supplemented with hot 
coffee and cold water by our Social Committee. The annual 
meeting with addresses was held in the South Church and a tour 
of sight-seeing to view the historic spots of our Town was plan- 
ned for the final feature of the day's doings. A severe thunder- 
shower made this impossible. 

A week later, under sunnier skys, the Governor Thomas Dud- 
ley Family gathered in the ancient dwelling, where Dudley and 
Bradstreet, no doubt, had often hob-nobbed with Elder W r hipple. 
Their visit to the ancient house-sites on High Street was the occa- 
sion of brief but admirable services of commemoration. The 
graduating class of the Grammar School came one afternoon, 
with their teacher, Miss Isabel G. Arthur, and saw the rooms 
and their furnishings. It was a happy thought on her part and 


we are led to inquire why other teachers do noLcome with their 
classes? No better illustration of the early life of our Town 
and no finer inspiration to historical study can be imagined. 

The last of the June pilgrimages was the great visitation of the 
Old South Historical Society on the 24th. Nearly three hun- 
dred tickets had been sold and the ladies had undertaken the 
formidable task of providing lunch for this hungry multitude. 
The work was entered upon with enthusiasm and extraordinary 
interest in the success of the undertaking was shown by our citi- 
zens generally. Generous gifts of money and food revealed 
loyalty to our Society as universal. Unfortunately the day 
proved wet and cold, but a visit was paid to our House and to 
some of the nearer historic localities before lunch was served. 
The broad steps and ample corridors and lower rooms of the 
South Church afforded a timely shelter, and a convenient place 
for the mid-day rest and refreshment. Then the auditorium 
was thrown open and inspiring addresses were delivered by Mr. 
Edwin D. Mead, Mrs. Lucia Ames Mead and others. The 
river trip was abandoned of necessity, but a line of trolley cars 
bore our guests away to Newburyport and ffte Merrimac. 

The Hovey family made its annual visit and the Saturday 
Evening Club of Bradford came down in the late Fall to have a 
quiet supper in our great kitchen. The sum total, financially, 
from these pilgrimages and gastronomic enterprizes w T as $187.92, 
to which is to be added a large prospective asset from the vivid 
remembrances of many pilgrims, who will come again to see the 
House at their leisure. The door fees paid by visitors amounted 
to $156.75. Publications were sold to the amount of $27.55 and 
notwithstanding the superabundance of cheap pictures in the 
store windows, the sale of photographs of the House, without and 
within, doubled that of the previous year (amounting to $30.45). 
A small percentage of profit remains, but the interest of visitors 
is enhanced. 

The total receipts, which may be credited to our House ac- 
count, as it is always the foremost thing in the minds of those 
who come, were $402.67. The expense of maintenance, includ- 
ing fuel for the curator, sundry repairs, cost of photographs, the 
care of the house and grounds, and re-setting a line of spruce 
trees, was $179.23. The cost of the last item was met, however, 


by the balance of the contribution _of the Ipswich Mill, carried 
over from the previous year. No small credit for this gratifying 
exhibit is due to our excellent curator, Mr. Washington P. Pick- 
ard, for his constant endeavors for the advantage of the Society 
and his fidelity to all the details of his responsible office. 

The receipts from membership fees were $378. 30, and from 
book sales by mail, $29.94, making the total income $810.97. 
Adding $290.60, the balance from 1905, the credit account is 
$1101.57. The expenditures include as the principal items, 
$100 for interest on the mortgage, $200 paid on the face of the 
mortgage, reducing it to $2300, $179.23 on the House account, 
and $334.26 for printing. This large item is due to the rather 
ambitious character of our last issue. ''The Simple Cobbler of 
Aggawam," by the eminent Nathaniel Ward, the 4th edition, 
1647, was included in the list of valuable books, given by the late 
Daniel Fuller Appleton. This unique work has been repro- 
duced with facsimile title page, preface, initial letters, head lines, 
etc. and an antique type, which resembles the original. The 
paging has also been preserved. Part of the edition was pub- 
lished in pamphlet form and the remainder, on heavier paper, 
has been bound in boards. It has met with a very compliment- 
ary reception from Mr. Mead and other historical students and 
will have a steady sale, we may reasonably believe. As no pub- 
lication was issued in 1905, the average expenditure for the two 
years has not been exceeded very materially. The work of pub- 
lication is the most enduring and perhaps Jie most valuable ser- 
vice to the great public, that an Historical Society can perform. 
Our Society has attained an honorable distinction for its work 
both for quality and quantity and the sale is steady. The aggre- 
gate receipt of about $60 from this source is a very satisfactory 
interest on the original cost. Some of the contributions which 
have come to us this year are of especial interest. Miss R. B. 
Manning of Salem gave the "Publishment Box" used by Eben- 
ezer Burnham, the Town Clerk of Ipswich, for the displaying of 
marriage intentions. Mr. William E. Gould of Brookline pre- 
sented an original musical composition, entitled Mannering, 
written by Gen. Henry K. Oliver of Salem on his 75th birthday 
and given to the donor. Mrs. Josiah Dudley has deposited with 
us the portrait of Rev. Daniel Fitz, D.D., painted by a native 


artist in Canton and a painting of the ship Malay, which -was 
commanded by Capt. Dudley and by Captain Joseph Willcomb. 
The valuable collection of sea-charts, owned by the late Capt. 
Richard T. Dodge, is likely to come into our possession. We 
hope that this will prove to be a nucleus of a marine collection, 
which would be of rare interest. The old sailors are passing 
away, and the sailing ships, which opened a career for many 
Ipswich boys are fast disappearing. A collection of old log-books, 
pictures and full rigged models of the sailing craft of various . 
builds with lists of the vessels, built in our own ship yards, and 
of the men, who sailed in them, if it is to be made at all, must be 
made now, and any contributions of this kind will be particu- 
larly welcome. 

But where would such a collection be displayed? Not in this 
House, for the rooms would afford no opportunity for its proper 
arrangement. For this, and for other collections, which are now 
waiting, and for our growing library a new building, designed 
for museum purposes, and for the various needs of the society, 
will soon be needed. We suggest to our wealthy and public- 
spirited friends, if the funds for such a building are not forth- 
coming, that provision be made for legacies, which will be avail- 
able for this end. The Nantucket Historical Association has 
recently received a legacy of $ 10,000. The Beverly Historical 
Society fell heir to the fine old mansion, which answers its pur- 
poses so admirably. The Methuen Society has been richly 
endowed by Mr. Searles. A Memorial building, designed to 
commemorate the fame of Ipswich men and women and per- 
petuate their remembrance, which would provide room for an 
Art collection, for a lecture hall, as well as for a large museum, 
would be of great value to our Society and to the Town. When 
will the first gift be announced? 

That the pride of ancestry is strong, has been illustrated very 
effectively. The Giles Firmin Garden, named in honor of the 
first Ipswich physician, whose home lot included the newly made 
garden, was the beneficiary of a summer fete on the grounds 
of Mr. Henry Brown, in August, 1900. The guests were invited 
to enroll their names and also that of any citizen of ancient 
Ipswich, to whom they trace their ancestry. Great enthusiasm 



was aroused and it was 
were represented by the 

found that the following early settlers 
appended number of guests. 

Samuel Appleton 
John Baker 


Thomas Knowlton 
Mistress Hannah Lake 


Thos. Boreman 


Archelaus Lakeman 


Thos. Burnham 


Robert Lord 


John Caldwell 


John Perkins 


John Cogswell 


Anthony Potter 


John Dane 


John Proctor 


Gen. Daniel Denison 


Rev. Nath. Rogers 


Sarah Dillingham 


Kilicross Ross 


Gov. Thos. Dudley 
Michael Farley 
Philip Fowler 


Henry Russell 1 
The Worshipful Mr. Richard 
Saltonstall 1 

Edward French 


Richard Sutton 


Dea. William Goodhue 


Edward Treadwell 


Thomas Harris 


Thomas Treadwell 


Luke Heard 


Jonathan Wade 


Daniel Hovey 
Richard Kimball 
Robert Kinsman 


Matthew Whipple 
John Winthrop, Jr. 
Rev. John Wise 


Surely, this just pride in such eminent ancestry may bring 
forth fruit in due time, in the enduring and honorable Memorial 
which we desire. 


Names recorded in the Register, .... 984 

Names of Ipswich residents, 89 

Names of residents of Massachusetts not including 

Ipswich, 584 

Names of residents of other States, .... 311 

On June 2, the Bay State League of Historical Societies visited 

the House. 
June 9, the Governor Thomas Dudley Family Association. 
June , The ninth Grade, Manning Grammar School. 
June 24, The Old South Historical Society. About 230 came, 

but only a small number recorded their names. 
Aug. 7, The Hovey Family. 
Nov. , The Saturday Evening Club from Bradford. 

The actual number of visitors to the House was probably about 

Washington P. Pickard. 



• ' 


T. F. Waters in account with the Ipswich Historical Society. 


To Membership fees, 


" Sales of books, by mail 


" Receipts from Whipple House, 

Door fees, 


Sales of books 


• " " photographs, 


From entertainment of the Gov. Thomas 

Dudley Family Asso., 


" Hovey Family, 



11 Bay State League, 


" Old South Historical Soc, 


" Saturday Evening Club, 


" Annual Supper, ..... 


402.67 " 



Balance in treasury, Dec. 1, 1905, 





Paid on Mortgage, 

" " Interest, 


« 4 t Printing, 


11 Stationary, Postage, etc., .... 


" Incidentals, 


House account, 

Paid for Fuel 



" Table furnishings and partial Pay- 

ment for stove, .... 


11 Water Tax, 


" Photographs, 


" Trees and setting, . . . 


" Repairs, 


" Care of house and grounds, 




Cash in treasury, Dec. 3, 1906, 






Mrs. Alice C. Bemis 
James H. Proctor 
Charles G. Rice 

Colorado Springs, Col. 
Ipswich, Mass. 


Dr. Charles E. Ames, 
Mrs. Susan A. R. Appleton, 
Francis R. Appleton, 
Mrs. Frances L. Appleton, 
Francis R. Appleton, Jr., 
James W. Appleton, 
Raudolph M Appleton, 
Miss S. Isabel Arthur, 
Dr. G. Guy Bailey, 
Mrs. Elizabeth H. Baker, 
Mrs. Ellen B. Baker, 
John H. Baker, 
Miss Katharine C. Baker, 
Charles W. Bam ford, 
George E. Barnard, 
Miss Mary 1). Bates, 
John A. Blake, 
James W. Bond, 
Warren Boynton, 
Albert S. Brown, 
Albert S. Brown, Jr., 
Charles W. Brown, 
Edward F. Brown, 
Mrs. Carrie R. Brown, 
Henry Brown, 
Mrs. Lavinia A. Brown, 
Robert Brown, 
Ralph W. Burnham, 
Mrs. Nellie Mae Burnham, 
Fred F. Byron, 
Miss Joanna Caldwell, 
Miss Lydia A. Caldwell, 
Miss Sarah P. Caldwell, 
Charles A. Campbell, 
Mrs. Lavinia Campbell, 
Edward W. Choate, 
Philip E. Clarke, 
Mrs. Mary E. Clarke, 
Sturgis Coffin, 2d, 
John H. Cogswell, 
Miss Harriet D. Condon, 
Brainerd J. Conley, 
Rev. Edward Constant, 
Miss Roxana C. Cowles, 

Rev. Temple Cutler, 
Arthur C. Damon, 
Mrs. Carrie Damon, 
Mrs. Cordelia Damon, 
Everett G. Damon, 
Harry K. Damon, 
Mrs. Abby Dan forth, 
Miss Edith L. Daniels, 
Mrs. Howard Dawson, 
George G. Dexter, 
Miss C. Bertha Dobson, 
Harry K. Dodge, 
Rev. John M. Donovan, 
Arthur W. Dow, 
Dana F. Dow, 
Mrs. Sarah B. Dudley, 
Mrs. Charles G. Dyer, 
Mrs. Emma Farley, 
Miss Lucy R. Farley, 
Miss Abbie M. Fellows, 
Benjamin Fewkes, 
James E. Gallagher, 
John S. Glover, 
Charles E. Goodhue, 
Frank T. Goodhue, 
John W. Goodhue, 
William Goodhue, 
John J. Gould, 
James Graflum, 
Mrs. Eliza H. Green, 
Mrs. Lois H. Hardy, 
George Harris, 
Mrs. Kate L. Haskell, 
George PI. W. Hayes, 
Mrs. Alice L. Heard, 
Miss Alice Heard, 
John Heard, 
Miss Mary A. Hodgdon, 
Miss S. Louise Holmes, 
Charles G. Hull, 
Miss Lucy S. Jewett, 
Miss Amy M. Johnson, 
Miss Ida B. Johnson, 
John A. Johnson, 




Miss Ellen M. Jordan, 
Albert Joyce, 
Charles M. Kelly, 
Mrs. Caroline Kenyon, 
Fred A. Kimball, 
Robert S. Kimball, 
Mrs. Isabelle G. Kimball, 
Miss Bethiah 1). Kiusman, 
Mrs. Susan K. Kinsman, 
Willard h\ Kinsman, 
Mrs. Mary Q. Kiusman, 
Dr. Frank W. Kyes, 
Mrs. Georgie C. Kyes, 
Elizabeth E. Lakeman, 
J. Howard Lakeman, 
Mrs. G. F. Langdon, 
Austin L. Lord, 
George A. Lord, 
Miss Lucy Slade Lord, 
Thomas 11. Lord, 
Mrs. Lucretia S. Lord, 
Walter E. Lord, 
Mrs. Mary B. Main, 
James F. Mann. 
Joseph Marshall, 
Everard H. Martin, 
Mrs. Marietta K. Martin, 
Miss Abby L. Newman, 
William .1. Norwood, 
Mrs. Elizabeth B. Norwood, 
John W. Nourse, 
Charles II. Noyes, 
Mrs. Harriet E. Noyes, 
Rev. Reginald Pearce, 
I. E. B. Perkins, 
Miss Carrie S. Perley, 
Augustine H. Plouff, 
Mrs. Frances E. Richardson, 
James S. Robinson, Jr., 

Mrsr Anna C. C. Robinson, 

Miss Anna W. Ross, 

Frederick G. Ross, 

Mrs. Mary F. Ross, 

Joseph F. Ross, 

Mrs. Helene Ross, 

William S. Russell, 

William W Russell, 

Daniel Satford, 

Angus Savory, 

Charles A. Say ward, 

Mrs. Henrietta W. Say ward, 

George A. Schofield, 

Amos E. Scotton, 

Mrs. Harriet G. Shaw, 

Dexter M. Smith. 

Mrs. Olive P. Smith, 

Mrs. Elizabeth K. Spaulding, 

George W. Starkey, 

Dr. Frank H. Stockweli, 

Mrs. Sadie B. Stockweli, 

Edward M. Sullivan, 

John J. Sullivan, 

Mrs. Elizabeth M. Sullivan, 

Arthur L. Sweetser, 

Samuel H. Thurston, 

George W. Tozer, 

MissEllen R. Trask, 

Miss Laura B. Underbill, 

Jesse H. Wade. 

Miss Nellie F. Wade, 

Miss Emma E. Wait, 

Luther Wait, 

Rev. T. Frank Waters, 

Mrs. Adeline M. Waters. 

Miss Susan C. Whipple, 

Mrs. Marianna Whittier, 

Miss Eva Adams Willcomb 

Chester P. Woodbury, 


Frederick J. Alley 
Mrs. Mary G. Alley 
William F. J. Boardman 
Albert D. Bosson* . 
Mrs. Alice C. Bosson* 
Mrs. Mary P. Bosworth 
John B. Brown* 
Mrs. Lucy T. Brown* 
Frank T. Burnham . 
Rev. Augustine Caldwell 
Eben Caldwell . 
Miss Florence F. Caldwell 
John A. Caldwell 
Mrs. Luther Caldwell 
Miss Mira E. Caldwell 

Hamilton, Mass. 
> t (i 

Hartford, Conn. 
Chelsea, Mass. 

.' New York, N. Y. 
Chicago, 111. 

So. Framiugham, Mass. 

Eliot, Me. 

. Elizabeth, N. J. 

. Philadelphia, Pa. 

Winchester, Mass. 

Lynn, Mass. 

* Summer home in Ipswich. 



Winthrop Chanler 
Rufus Choate 
Alexander B. Clark 
Mrs. Edward Cordis 
Mrs. Lina C. Cushing 
Charles Davis . 
Fellowes Davis . 
Horatio Davis . 
Joseph D. Dodge 
Mrs. Edith S. Dole 
Joseph K. Farley 
Sylvanus C. Farley 
Amos Tuck French 
Edward B. George 
Dr. J. L. Good ale* 
Dr. E. S. Goodhue 
Samuel V. Goodhue 
William E. Gould 
Dr. F. B. Harrington* 
Miss Louise M. Hodgkins 
Rev. Horace C. Hovey 
Miss Ruth A. Hovey 
Gerald L. Hoyt* 
Mrs. May Hoyt* 
Miss Julia Hovt* 
Lydig Hoyt* * . 
Albert P. Jordan 
Arthur S. Kimball 
Rev. John C. Kimball 
Rev. Frederic J. Kinsman 
Curtis E. Lakernan . 
Mrs. Mary A. Lord* 
Dr. Sidney A. Lord . 
Mrs. Frances E. Markoe 
VIrs. Anna Osgood* . 
Rev. Robert B. Parker* 
VI rs. Mary A. Parsons 
\sahel II . Patch 
VIrs Anna P. Peabody* 
Vtoritz H. Philipp* . 
Bo wen VV. Pierson . 
Frederick II. Plouff . 
VIrs. Jesse W. P. Purdy 
A. Davidson Remick 
Fames E. Richardson 
Dr. Mark W. Richardson' 
VIrs. Lucy C. Roberts 
Derby Rogers 
Albert Russell . 
VIrs. E. M. H. Slade 
Edward H. Smith 
Vliss Elizabeth P. Smith 
Benry P. Smith 
VIrs. Caroline P. Smith 
*ev. R. Cotton Smith* 
Jr. E. W. Taylor* . 
Xev. William G. Thayer* 


Lihue, Kauai 


Genesee, N. Y. 

. , Essex, Mass. 

Peabody, Mass. 

Jamaica Plain, Mass. 

Washington, I). C. 

East Milton, 

New York, N. Y. 

Boston, Mass. 

Lynn, Mass. 

Newbury, Mass. 

Hawaiian Islands. 

Alton, III. 

New York, N. Y. 

Rowley. Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 

Hawaiian Islands. 

Salem, Muss. 

BrookUue, Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 

Wilbraham, Mass. 

Newburvport, Mass. 

Lake Mohonk, N. Y. 

New York, N. Y. 

London, Eng. 
Fresno, Cal. 
Oberlin, Ohio. 
Greenfield, Mass. 
New York, N. Y. 
Albany, N. Y. 
Boston, Mass. 
Cromwell, Conn. 
Philadelphia, Pa. 
Orange, N. J. 
Providence, R. I. 
Lynnfleld Center, Mass. 
Clarksville, Tenn. 
Boston, Mass. 
New York, N. Y. 

(( K (C 

Boston, Mass. 

Reading, Penn. 

Boston. Mass. 

Salem, Mass. 

Boston, M-iss. 

Cambridge, Mass. 

New Canaan, Conn. 

Portland, Me. 

New York, N. Y. 

Salem, Mass. 

(i (< 

Brookline, Mass. 
>< ct 

Washington, D. C. 

Boston, Mass. 

Southboro, Mass. 

* Summer home In Ipswich. 




Andrew S. Thomson 
Dr. Harvey P. Towle* 
Dr. Chas. W. Townsend* 

Miss Ann 11. Treadwell 
Bayard Tuckerman* 
Mrs. Ruth A. Tuckerman" 
Charles H. Tweed 
Mrs. Margaret Wade 
Major Chas. W. Whipple 
Wallace P. Willett* 
Mrs. Elizabeth Willett* 
Egerton L. Winthrop, Jr. 
Frederic Winthrop 
Robert D. Winthrop 
Chalmers Wood* 


John Albree, Jr. 
Miss Caroline Farley 
Frank C. Farley 
Mrs. Katherine S. Farley 
Mrs. Eunice W. Felton 
Jesse Fewkes . 
Reginald Foster 
Augustus P. Gardner 
Charles L. Goodhue 
Miss Alice A. Gray 
Miss Emily R. Gray 
Arthur W. Hale 
Albert Farley Heard, 2d 
Otis Kimball 
Mrs. Otis Kimball 
Miss Sarah S. Kimball 
Frederick J. Kingsbury 
Miss Caroline T. Leeds 
Miss Katherine P. Loring 
Mrs. Susan M. Loring 
Mrs. Elizabeth R. Lyman 
Josiah II. Mann 
Henry S. Manning 
Mrs. Mary W. Manning 
George von L. Meyer 
Miss Esther Parmenter 
Mrs. Mary S. C. Peabody 
Richard M. Saltonstall 
Denisou R. Slade 
Joseph Spiller 
Miss Ellen A. Stone 
Harry W. Tvler 
Albert Wade 
Edward P. Wade 
W. F. Warner 
George Willcomb 

Wenham, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 

Jamaica Plain, Mass. 
. New York, N. Y. 
Boston, Mass. 
. New York, N. Y. 
Newton, Mass. 
. New York, N. Y. 
East Orange, N. J. 

". New York, N.Y. 
. Hamilton, Mass 
. New York, N.Y. 

Swampscott, Mass. 

Cambridge, Mass. 

So. Manchester, Conn. 

Cambridge, Mass. 

Newton, Mass 

Boston, Mass. 

Hamilton, Mass. 

Springtleld, Mass. 

Sauquoit, N.Y. 

Winchester, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 

Salem, Mass. 

Water bury, Conn. 

Boston, Mass. 

. Brookline, Mass. 

Ipswich, Mass. 

. New York, N. Y. 
(« << it 

Washington, D. C. 

Chicopee, Mass. 

Ipswich, Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 

Center Harbor, N. H. 

Boston, Mass. 

East Lexington, Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 

Alton, 111. 

it it 

St. Louis, Mo. 
Boston, Mass. 

•Summer home in Ipswich 

Membership in the Ipswich Historical Society involves 
the payment of an annual due of $2, or a single payment of 
$50, which secures Life Membership. Members are entitled 
to a copy of the regular publications of the Society, in pam- 
phlet form, without expense, free admission to the House 
with friends, and the privilege of voting in the business 

There are no restrictions as to place of residence. Any 
person, who is interested in the Society and desires to pro- 
mote its welfare, is eligible to membership. We desire to 
enlarge the non-resident membership list until it shall include 
as many as possible of those, who trace their descent to our 

Names may be sent at any time to the President, but the 
election of members usually occurs only at the annual meet- 
ing in December. 

' (55) 



By Thomas Franklin Waters, President of the Ipswich Historical Society 















Primeval Agawam, study of the Indian life 

The Coming of the English ..... 

Homes and Dress ....... 

Some notable Settlers. John Winthrop, Jr., Thomas 
Dudley, Richard Saltonstall, Simon and Ann Brad- 
street, Rev. Nathaniel Ward, John Norton 

The Development of our Town Government 

Common Lands and Commonage 

Trades and Employments 

The Body Politic 

The Sabbath and the Meeting House 

The Early Military Annals 

The Charter in Peril. Samuel Symonds, Daniel Deni- 
son, John Appleton . . .... 

The Grammar School and Harvard College. Ezekiel 
Cheeverand his successors, and many famous pupils 
of the Grammar School ...... 

King Philip's War; contains Major Samuel Appleton 's 
military letters and a complete list of the soldiers in 
that war ......... 

Ipswich and the Andros Government. A cs reful study 
of the attitude of Ipswich men in this critical period, 
with many documents, warrants for arrest, deposi- 
tions, records, etc. Rev. John Wise, Major Samuel 
Appleton, John Appleton, Jr., Thomas French, Wil- 
liam Goodhue, John Andrews, Robert Kinsman . 

Laws and Courts ....... 

Witchcraft ... .... 

War of William and Mary and other Indian troubles, 
with a list of soldiers so far as known .... 

pp. 1-6 
















The material for this work has been derived, by original 
research, chiefly from the Town Records, the Records of the 
old Ipswich Quarter Sessions Court and other Court Records, 
the Massachusetts Bay Records, the Massachusetts Archives, 
and contemporaneous published works, -so far as possible. 




It is illustrated with facsimiles of ancient documents and 


is a study of the original land grants for house lots on all the 
ancient streets and lanes, and the successive owners to the 
present generation, with diagrams, maps, and photographs of 
many ancient dwellings. 

The dates of the erection of houses are noted in many 
instances, and all transfers are accompanied with citations of 
the Book and Leaf of the ancient Ipswich Deeds (5 volumes), 
and the Records of the Essex County Registry of Deeds and 
Registry of Probate. Some eighteen hundred citations are 
made from the original sources, and these constitute the sole 
authority for this record of locations, ownerships, and the 
probable age and identity of dwellings. 

Besides this, there are seven appendices to the volume, 
giving important historical material under the following heads: 
A summary of the names of the first settlers from 1633 to 
1649; Some Early Inventories; The Letters of Rev. Nathan- 
iel Ward; The Letters of Giles Firmin; The Letters of Sam- 
uel Symonds; The Valedictory and Monitory Writing left by 
Sarah Goodhue; The Diary of Rev. John Wise, Chaplain 
in the Expedition to Quebec. There is also a copious Index. 

The book will be of particular interest and importance to 
those who are of Ipswich ancestry, and especially, those re- 
lated to the Ipswich families of 














































and many others. 

Price. Five dollars, net. Postage, thirty-six cents. 



(From The Nation, New York.) 

In one feature, at least, this ample and handsomely printed work 
surpasses any other town history that we have ever encountered. We 
refer to that portion of the second half which deals with "Houses 
and Lands," and which, with the aid of a diagram, traces the for- 
tunes of each dwelling and lot of the original settler nominatim not 
only to 1700, but to the present day. This enormous labor is for- 
tified by the citation of wills and deeds, and the result is a firm base 
for all future researches. It is supplemented by a summary of the 
names of the settlers from 1633 to 1649, with the year in which each 
name first occurs in the town records, and by some sample inventories 
of personal effects. Other remarkable lists of the early inhabitants have 
been constructed for the chapter entitled "The Body Politic; " and show 
that out of an enrolled male population in 1678 totalling 508, there were 
220 commoners and 125 freemen (17 of these not being commoners). The 
freemen alone were entitled to vote for the officers and magistrates of 
the Colony and to speak and vote in town meeting ; the commoners might 
vote on all questions relating to the common lands ; the residue, so-called 
Resident, were eligible for jury duty and to vote for selectmen. 

Mr. Waters 's historical treatment is episodical and is very pleasingly 
manifested in the opening chapters on the aborigines as described by 
the first Englishmen and on home and dres3. These themes are in- 
vested with a really fresh interest, and set forth with noticeable literary 

Much remains to be said or sayable, but we must stay our hand. 
Mr. Waters 's work, which we hope he will follow up for later times, as he 
half promises, takes its place in the front rank of its class, and can 
hardly be praised too highly for diligent research, candor, taste, style and 

(From a letter, written by C. B. Tillinghast, State Librarian of Massachusetts.) 

"The story of the founders of Ipswich which you have told with so 
much detail and skill in the first half of the volume, is of course in large 
degree the story of the early life of the settlers in other parts of the Colonv 
and this study, which you have founded with such pains-taking accuracy 
largely upon original and documentary sources of information makes the 
volume of the widest general interest to all, who have an interest in the 
early settlers and their mode of life. This feature of the book it seems to 
me, is unequalled by any other available publication and should commend 
it to the favorable attention of all libraries. 

The topographical study which forms the latter portion of the book, 
is a model of what such a study should be, and in this respect, Ipswich 
territory is of special interest. 


our town, their homes and home life, their employments, their Sabbath- 
keeping, their love of learning, their administration of town affairs, their 
stern delusions, their heroism in war and in resistance to tyranny." To 
anyone familiar with the beautiful old town the book will have all the 
fascination of a romance. 

{By Rev. Edward Everett Hale, in The Lend a Hand Record.) 

Here is a model town history. It covers the history of the old town 
of Ipswich in Massachusetts from the year 1633, when it was what we 
may call almost the model settlement of Winthrop's party, and extending 
to the year 1700. That is to say, it is the history of the first two genera- 
tions of the Bay colonists. The settlement was lead by John Winthrop, 
the son of the Governor, and from the first it had the cordial cooperation 
of the General Court of Massachusetts. Rev. Thomas Franklin Waters, 
the Minister of the South Church in Ipswich, has given the careful work 
of years to this history and has now presented it to us in a form worthy 
of such a history. 

It has enough fac-similes of the very earliest papers, not only to give 
us a breeze of the atmosphere of the town, but to show us how carefully 
they have been worked over and digested, and indeed, to make it unnec- 
essary for us to search for hours in the original documents. It is not 
everybody who has at hand the old map of New England, from Hub- 
bard's History, — "The best which could be got," that is the pathetic 
inscription on the original, — with its gigantic enlargement of Lake Win- 
nepesaukee, its convenient north and south straight line of the Connecti- 
cut, its frequent mountains and its infrequent trees, its spire crowned vil- 
lages and its little army of red folks, with the ships in the Bay. These 
are all tokens of the simplicity of the geography of ancient time, such as 
make it real to- us as no description can. 

The volume is divided into part first, which is distinctly historical, 
and part second, "Houses and Lands," which meets the local necessity as 
to the original d ivision of land and the changes which followed in the first 
century of the history. The chapters in the historical part are all interest- 
ing. The study of home and dress, of common laws, of commonage, of 
the boards of charity, of the perils of the charter, of the grammar school 
and the college, and of witchcraft, will demand the attention of all care- 
ful students of the foundation of New England. 

The work of Nathaniel Ward as one of the real founders of our infant 
state is so important that it deserved the most careful study and this it 
has received here. Massachusetts has few such men in its history. Ward 
graduated at Emmanuel College as early as 1603. He is acquainted with 
Lord Bacon, with Archbishop Usher, and with David Pareus, the famous 
theologian of Heidelberg; he studied law afterwards, entered the ministry 
of the church when he was fortv-six yea T s of age ; he is excommunicated 
in 1633; and in the sixty-fourth year of his age, landed in Massachusetts 
Bay. There is something pathetic in thinking of this accomplished old 


man in the wilderness life of Ipswich, and something truly magnificent in 
the work assigned to him and by him so well performed. He was ap- 
pointed by the General Court in 1638 to draw up its first code of laws. 
His legal training fittted him for this task. He spent three years in it and 
the result is "The Body of Liberties." Of this Francis Gray said that 
while it retains some strong traces of the time, it is in the main far in ad- 
vance of the common law of England at this time. Ward is better 
known perhaps as the author of the "Simple Cobbler of Agawam." But 
the humour and wit of that book ought not eclipse in men's minds the 
fact that the corner stone of New England legislation was laid by him . 
He ranks first among our law givers of that great century. 

The name of William Hubbard, the historian of New England, is 
another Ipswich name of the seventeenth century, very important in our 
New England history. These two names alone would make Ipswich one 
of the most distinguished towns in Massachusetts. But whoever will 
carefully study Mr. Waters's valuable book will see what were not only 
the beginnings but the successful prosecution of many of the enterprises 
and successes which look back to the seventeenth century. All persons 
interested in New England life and history owe a great debt to the 
author. E. E. H. 

(From Appleton Morgan, President of the New York Shakespeare Society.) 

The Complete Book of the Town of Ipswich, Massachusetts, in that 
Essex County, where Rufus Choate said there was more History to the 
square inch than in any other spot under the skies, deserved to be 
written, and the Rev. Thomas Franklin Waters, President of the Ipswich 
Historical Society has written it in a splendid imperial octavo volume 
of 586 compact pages. It is illuminated with valuable pictures, and 
nothing has been omitted of the muniments of the quaint old precinct. 
Ipswich has its legends as well as its history, but Mr. Waters has been 
a very Draco here! 

His unswerving and uncompromising fidelity to facts will admit no 
plea of ben trovato, and he tumbles into oblivion many a cherished ro- 
mance and tradition, but he packs their places with invaluable records 
and rescued chronicles! 

The history of New England cannot be written — and henceforth no- 
body will attempt to write it — without Mr. Waters's volume. It is a work 
of enormous patience and ability, and is in all ways a model of what a 
Town History should be. 

(By Bayard Tuckerman, Lecturer in English at Princeton University). 

Ipswich is one of the oldest and in some respects one of the most inter- 
esting and typical of the English settlements in America. The difficulties 
to be encountered by the early colonists in subduing the wilderness, in 
wringing a livelihood from an unfruitful soil, in building up a civilization 


in which comfort and education were sought together, were nowhere greater 
and nowhere surmounted with more courageous energy. 

The institution of town government and the intelligent practice of the 
principles of political liberty are well exemplified in the history of Ipswich, 
while the bold resistance of her citizens to the tyranny of the English 
government in the time of Governor Andros has given her a claim to the 
title of the "Cradle of American Liberty." Mr. Waters has told this story 
with historical insight and literary skill, and has given us besides a mass of 
information regarding local customs, transfers of land and resident fam- 
ilies, which make his work of personal interest to everyone whose ancestors 
have lived in the township. 

As we turn the leaves of this scholarly work, the chapter headings 
indicate' a variety of interesting subjects. Political history is studied 
under "The Development of our Town Government" "The Body Politic" 
"The Charter in Peril" "Ipswich and the Andros Government." Under 
the heads of "The Coming of the English" "Homes and Dress" "Some 
Notable Settlers" "Trades and Employments," we find a rich fund of 
information regarding the early inhabitants and the lives they led. 

In the chapter dealing with "The Sabbath and the Meeting House" 
with the melancholy accompaniment of "Witchcraft," the austere relig- 
ious life of the early times is depicted. The relations of the settlers to the 
Indians are described under "Primeval Agawam" "King Philip's War" 
and the "War of William and Mary." 

The determination of the colonists to provide education for their 
children is shown in the article on "The Grammar School and Harvard 
College." Other interesting chapters deal with the "Laws and Courts" 
and with the curious institution of the "Common Lands and Commonage." 

The second portion of the work contains an account of the ownership 
and transfer of lands and houses which is the fruit of research, of remarkable 
industry and accuracy. No one whose family has owned property within 
the bounds of Ipswich can fail to find facts of interest to him here. 

The names of early settlers are given in full and there are a number 
of inventories illustrative of the character of personal property held and 
transmitted. The letters of Rev. Nathaniel Ward, of Dr. Giles Firmin, 
and of Samuel Symonds, the writings of Sarah Goodhue, and the narra- 
tive of the Rev. John Wise, all of great antiquarian interest, are given in 
the Appendix. 

Thirty-five excellent illustrations, and an Index which forms a com- 
plete guide to all the names and subjects mentioned, add greatly to the 
value of the work. 

This history of Ipswich is the result of such painstaking and intelligent 
research, and is written in so attractive a style, that it cannot fail to appeal 
to all persons who have any connection with the town. Whoever lives 
in Ipswich or whose ancestors lived here, should have a copy among his 
books. He will find pleasure in reading it, and profit in possessing it for 


Bayard Tuckerman. 

• ' 




I The Oration by Rev. Washington Choate and the Poem by Rev. 

Edgar F. Davis, on the 200th Anniversary of the Resistance to 
the Anclros Tax, 1887. Price 25 cents. 

II to VI inclusive. Out of print. 

VII. A Sketch of the Life of John Winthrop the Younger, with 

portrait and valuable reproductions of ancient documents 
and autographs, by T, Frank Waters.. Price 81.50. Post; 
14 cents. 

VIII. "The Development of our Town Government" and "Com- 

mon Lands and Commonage," with the Proceedings at the 
Annual Meeting, 1899. Price 25 cents. 

IX. A History of the Old Argiila Road in Ipswich,' Massachusetts, 

by T. Frank Waters. Price 25 cents. 

'X. "The Hotel Cluny of a New England Village," by Sylvester Bax- 
ter, and the History of the Ancient House, with Proceedings 
at the Annual Meeting, 1900. Price 25 cents. 

XI. Tl 

he Meeting House Green and a Study of Houses and Lands in 
that vicinity, with Proceedings at the Annual Meeting, Dec. 2, 
1901. Price, 25 ce 

XII. Thomas Dudley and Simon, and Ann Bradstreet. A Study of 

House-Lots to Determine the Location of Their Homes, and 
the Exercises at the Dedication of Tablets, July 31, 1902. 
with Proceedings at the Annual Meeting, Dec. 1, 1902. Price 
25 cents. 

XIII. "Fine Thread, Lace and Hosiery in Ipswich" by Jesse Fewkes, 

and "Ipswich Mills and Factories." by T. Frank Waters, with 
Proceedings at the Annual Meeting. Price 25 cents. 

XIV. The Simple Cooler of Aggawam, by Rev. Nathaniel Ward. A 

reprint of the 4th edition, published in 1817, with facsimile 
of title page, preface, and head lines and the exact text, and 
an Essay, Nathaniel Ward and The Simple Cobler, by T. Frank 
Waters. 110 pp. 25 cent-. Postage 10 cents. A limited 
edition, printed on heavy paper, bound in boards. One dollar, 
postage prepaid. 

XV. --The Old Bay [load from Saltonstall's Brook and Samuel Ap- 

pieton's Farm" and "A 1 • gy of the Ips ,'ich D icendants 

of Samuel \ppleton," by T. Prank Waters, with Proceedings 
at the Annual Meeting. Price, #5 cents. 

I >;' '